122. One Fifty Lashes Pale Ale

Posted: October 21, 2011 in Australian ales, Tough label
Tags: , , , , , ,

One Fifty Lashes Pale Ale

Company info:
Malt Shovel Brewery Pty Ltd
Camperdown, N.S.W

[www.james-squire.com.au]

Bottle size sampled: 345 mL

Alcohol: 4.2%
Standard drinks: 1.1

Cap type: Non-twist

Cost: $TBC

Label info: ‘The story goes that when James Squire was discovered stealing ingredients from the stores to make the colony’s first batch of beer, the Judge ordered 150 lashes… plus 2 barrels of ale. Thankfully for us, James Squire was a far better brewer than he was a thief.

A clean-finishing, Australian-style cloudy pale ale for cracking refreshment. Malted wheat adds to its refreshing character and a concoction of hops creates fruity aromas with hints of passionfruit, grapefruit & citrus’

What the label really means: I’ve always loved the stories about James Squire that are recounted on their labels. He’s always been portrayed as a bit of a legend, championing drinker’s love of fine beer since the very early days of Australian white-settlement. The more I read about Squire, the more I love him, and the more I love the legacy he has left behind.

The Hell-Cat review starts here

Label: Malt Shovel Brewery have had a bit of a relaunch of their labels over the past 12 months or so, and I really feel they have only gotten better. I love the fact that each brew now has a different theme to accompany it. It just creates a more solid, steeped in history feel to the whole deal. With the label for One Fifty Lashes Pale Ale, I love the booger green and I love the small picture of the cat-o-nine-tails.

I give it a label rating of 7 out of 10.

AROMA: Very wheaty, citrussy…it’s weird, it smells like a very generic lager. It’s actually kind of boring.

Taste: GLASS – Have a swig of the One Fifty Lashes Pale Ale and yes there’s the citrus, wheat lager tones so prevalent in many generic lagers on the market, but this has the pleasure of a delicious ale smoothness that elevates this brew into greatness. There’s a kind of earthy goodness that flows through the ale, sitting nicely with its refreshing, cleansing goodness.

I give it a beer from glass rating of 7.5 out of 10.

Taste: BOTTLE – Drink this from the bottle and it loses a bit of its flavour and complexity and becomes a bit too carbonated. Thankfully it’s just as refreshing and crisp but it just doesn’t quite get there…

I give it a taste from bottle rating of 7 out of 10.

Accompanying food: I would love to sup on this beer while eating a deliciously hearty meatloaf.

Best season to appreciate: Definitely a Summer refresher. It’ll put a sparkle in your step.

All-nighter beer? Definitely! It’s going down so well I can’t see myself getting sick of this.

NEXT WEEK: Sierra Nevada Torpedo

Comments
  1. BargeDave says:

    I can’t help but note that a discussion about a James Squires beer normally attracts more enthusiasm than this one has. Come on regular Squires drinkers, what do you reckon about the latest addition to a reliably interesting line-up (except ironically their signature Amber Ale, which is boring as).

    Like

  2. BargeDave says:

    Good work Sniv, I’ve had some very happy times drinking the wrong beer for this blog. I like this beer, particularly the pleasant hop flavours. Squires beers rarely disappoint and this is no exception.

    Like

    • BargeDave says:

      Hmm, further to previous, I realise that both Squires Golden Ale and this effort are pleasantly hoppy ales with a component of wheat alongside the barley. I’ll try them side-by-side to see if I can work out the difference between them!

      Like

      • BargeDave says:

        I did the side by side test and they are quite similar. The Golden Ale has a stronger wheat flavour, but the hops profiles are only subtley different.

        Like

    • radiosnivins says:

      I hold this blog in such lofty regard, Bargé, that I would rather find a lesion on my d’snoyle than test guzz the wrong beer, and I’m the type of fellow that prides himself on having a lesion-free d’snoyle.

      Like

  3. Radio Snivins says:

    James Squire: 150 lashes. Edmund Resch: unscathed. Dale Arden said it best – ‘Flash. Flash. I love you, but we only have fourteen hours to save the earth.’ I really believe that. Nine out of ten…hic

    P.S. Just when you think ‘Kazoo can’t do it again – kerwallop! – ‘Kazoo does it again. Three hiccoughs for the ‘Kazoo…hic hic hic

    Like

    • Radio Snivins says:

      It’s been bought to my attention that I mistakenly test guzzed Stow Away IPA last night, not One Fifty Lashes Pale Ale. ‘Kazoo’s ‘booger green’ label quip should’ve alerted me to my error – Stow Aways are a bruised testicle purple – but at 5.6% the same phenomena that makes red traffic lights appear green when foozled was obviously affecting me. Please, disregard my comments above, except for the ‘Kazoo hics, I meant every one of them…hic

      Like

Leave a Reply

