127. Mountain Goat Hightail Ale

Posted: December 7, 2011 in Australian ales
Tags: , , , , ,

Hightail Ale


Company info:
Mountain Goat Beer
RICHMOND, V.I.C

[goatbeer.com.au]

Bottle size sampled: 330 mL

Alcohol: 4.5%
Standard drinks: 1.2

Cap type: Non-twist

Cost: I picked this up for AU$3.50

Label info: ‘You are holding a quality, small-batch brewed amber ale. Its rich toffee tones and floral aromas come from an all-natural process using only malt, hops, yeast and water. Thanks for supporting independent, craft beer. Dave and Cam

What the label really means: I like the sound of this brew, and as I wrote when I did my review for Mountain Goat’s Organic Steam Ale ‘…what makes this beer seem attractive…is the final sentence letting us know Dave and Cam were involved. This makes the beer assuredly a friendly label, non-pretentious and very welcoming. I am ready to crack the top off this sucker immediately’.

The Hell-Cat review starts here

Label: The labels for Mountain Goat brews differ only in colour. So I’ll reuse my Steam Ale label review here: ‘I love the simplicity of this label that conveys strength, class, and the power of goats. The font [for Hightail Ale] is perfect and gives an olde worlde charm suggesting traditional methods, and plenty of history. It’s a single band, matte label and just seems to work. No gold, no shiny bits, no pretentiousness. I love it.’

I will however minus half a point for unoriginality. Sorry boys.

I give it a label rating of 7 out of 10.

AROMA: A subtle caramel, chocolate aroma with a tinge of melon fruitiness. Interesting, exotic, enticing.

Taste: GLASS – This is a very smooth drop – carbonation here is barely noticeable. It’s very delicious with a chocolately finish and a tinge ofbitterness that pushes this ale into genuine meaty, all-mouth territory. Possibly the best Mountain Goat drop I’ve tried…it’s really quite delicious.

I give it a beer from glass rating of 8 out of 10.

Taste: BOTTLE – Just as delicious, just as smooth, just as flavoursome. This is one fine drop that just gets better and better with each sip.

I give it a taste from bottle rating of 8 out of 10.

Accompanying food: A good lamb accompaniment for sure. It’s like the gravy you wish you had.

Best season to appreciate: More of a Winter brew.

All-nighter beer? How could I possibly turn this down? It’s an absolute classic in flavour and smoothness and would easily rock me in its gentle hooves.

NEXT WEEK: Crown Lager

Comments
  1. Radio Snivins says:

    Some light reading whilst guzzing a Hightail:

    VBsmall

    Like

  2. BargeDave says:

    Yet another great Australian craft beer reviewed among these pages. I prefer my beers hoppier but this is no disappointment.

    Like

    • Radio Snivins says:

      I concur, Bargé, it could be hoppier, but then again who of us couldn’t? How ’bout its nose though? Sniff sniff. That’s quite a nose. A nose like that could launch a thousand hangovers. I do like an efficient beer. Nine out of ten.

      craft beer noun a brew that can only be accessed with a bottle opener or a blunt object

      Like

  3. Radio Snivins says:

    Another superb review, ‘Kazoo. You’ve really mastered this beer blogging lark.

    In an alternative whiffling universe I’d prob’ly be a Hightail fiend. Alas, as a huge fan of Jan-Michael Vincent’s arthouse masterpiece, The Foozle Hunter, particularly the powerful ending, I’ve never been able to bring myself to get on the outside of the stuff. When Jan-Michael has a vendetta against an ale, so does Radio Snivins. That’s just the way this Radio rolls. Nine out of ten.

    Like

Leave a Reply

