135. There is no Santa

Posted: March 7, 2012 in ale, International beer, Stout
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

There is no Santa

Company info:
BrewDog
Fraserburgh, SCOTLAND 

[www.brewdog.com]

Alcohol: 4.7%
Standard drinks: TBC

Cap type: Non-twist

Cost: TBC

Label info: ‘Hark! A limited edition seasonal stout brewed with cocoa nibs and ginger sterns.
In the true spirit of Christmas ‘cheers’ we at BrewDog have taken it upon ourselves to create a Santa’s little helper for all those battling through the festive season.
Our crack team of elves, penguins and red nosed reindeer have been crafting, brewing and perfecting this warming winter stout as a reward for all those driven to the brink and back in the name of Noel.
Now all you have to do is don that customary yule tide sweater and find a roaring open fire to enjoy it by.
In fact this beer is so good, we specifically advise against sharing it with any chimney intruding, night time visitors.
Oh and just remember, this BrewDog’s not for life, it’s just for Christmas’

What the label really means:
The description has really gotten me enthused to sit back and sample something that is designed to relax and reward. It’s a welcome, light hearted relief from the usual franticness of the festive season.

The Hell-Cat review starts here

Label: Again with the stencil-art styled label, this one really works. I like the falling snow flakes the slapped on paint, and the un-Christmassy purple. This is a bold move by BrewDog to make such a in your face statement against the jolly fat man. I can’t imagine this being purchased by a mum or dad with Santa-fearing children. One glimpse of that label and it’s safe to say you will have effectively ruined Christmas. Referring back to the label description that says this is for those battling it through the festive season, this statement really is the final nail in the coffin. Sure, you’ve had a rotten time working through the festive season and guess what? Things ain’t gonna get better – there is no Santa.

I give it a label rating of 7 out of 10.

AROMA: I get hints of cinnamon and nutmeg, spice, and all things nice. It smells pretty amazing actually.

Taste: GLASS – Wow. There is no Santa is a delicious softly spice brew. There is a very subtle suggestion of bitterness accompanying a real warmth that flows through every mouthful. It’s sugary sweet, softened by bold cinnamon and nutmeg tones. It feels damned festive and it’s evoking strong emotions in me similar to those BrewDog’s previously reviewed Paradox Smokehead. This is one amazing brew.

I give it a beer from glass rating of 9 out of 10.

Taste: BOTTLE – Still just as all-mouth encompassingly delicious. It seems to lack a little…ambience. Perhaps it’s the lack of aroma. But it’s inducing strong, enduring visions of snow, fireplaces, Christmas. This stuff is really pushing my boat.

I give it a taste from bottle rating of 8.5 out of 10.

Song of choice: Try this alongside Gotye’s ‘Somebody That I Used to Know

Accompanying food: Because the brew is so light I could easily see this being the perfect accompaniment to a pork or turkey Christmas dinner. But for my money, I am leaning more towards the mince pie and rum ball dessert.

Best season to appreciate: This is a real Winter warmer – perfectly timed for my tasting as the weather is very cool at the moment and perfect for this beer.

All-nighter beer? Yes, yes, yes! Christmas Eve never looked so enticing.

NEXT WEEK: TBC

Comments
  1. […] this label description, I can understand why you may immediately think of the incredible ‘There is no Santa‘. It sounds warm and comforting, and has a lot to live up to. Definitely sounds like a lot of […]

    Like

  2. Radio Snivins says:

    Another superdooper review, ‘Kazoo.

    I was really looking forward to test guzzling There Is No Santa, but, alas, no gherkin. The stuff’s not available down here in Upper Ferntree Gully. I looked everywhere, but the gherkin was unforthcoming. Still, mustn’t blub. As is standard procedure in these circs, I was forced to resort to my default beer – Tooheys Old.

    Like

    • Diddlysquat says:

      Dr Hellcat: There is not much love for this particular review, but does not surprise based on the hard availability of this drop in Vic. I asked at my local First Choice and the manager was very helpful but thought I was talking about Broo – god forgive, that’s nasty – he supplied me with the QLD supplier of Brewdog eventually and ushered me out with a chirophractic pat on the back.

      Said supplier was non-forthcoming but recommended some Bismarck sinking drop. As my heritage is German, and my budget not so great so I walked away.

      I look forward to a more widely available beer next time around.

      Like

      • Mason Hell-Cat says:

        Sorry to hear you guys weren’t able to find this awesome drop. I was given this bottle from my brother not long after Christmas…purchased in Australia.

        Sniv – love your audio-visual presentation once again.

        Diddlysquat – Thank you for recognising my medical qualifications. Finally all that money I paid to the University of Bangladesh, along with a 30 minute multiple choice quiz is paying for itself.
        As my blog’s newest, more regular poster, I think it’s safe to say that you are the new BargeDave (may he rest in peace).

        Like

Leave a Reply

