136. Celtic Red Ale

Posted: March 14, 2012 in Australian ales
Tags: , , , , ,

Celtic Red Ale

Company info:
Bridge Road Brewers
Beechworth, V.I.C

[www.bridgeroadbrewers.com.au]

Bottle size sampled: 330 mL

Alcohol: 5.3%
Standard drinks: 1.3

Cap type: Non-twist

Cost: $TBC

Label info: ‘First brewed as a ‘one off’ for the Beechworth Celtic Festival but now a Beechworth staple. This malty Irish Red Ale is full bodied with big toffee and caramel notes.’

What the label really means: I always make a note of reading the label after I have done my review to see if I’ve missed something. Let’s see how close this week’s review is.

The Hell-Cat review starts here

Label: Bridge Road Brewers have really stepped up to the plate since I last reviewed one of their beer labels. The label is brown paper-baggish in texture, colour and feel, a swift kick goodbye to the gold emblazoned label of the Pale Ale.  Bridge Road Brewers Beechworth sticks out as a bold kick to the nuts of anyone doubting their label design skills and I am crouching in pain. I love the bold approach, I love the tough feel, repositioning Ned Kelly as the king of the outlaws, and I love the font for Celtic Red Ale and accompanying clovers.
Around the side of the label (not seen in this shot) is a scale of the brew’s malt and hop profile. Malt is rated quite high while hop is moderate. What a great feature.

I give it a label rating of 7 out of 10.

AROMA: It’s intensely malted smelling…wow…this will really smack you awake. I detect an almost bourbon-like aroma.

Taste: GLASS – Celtic Red Ale is surprisingly smooth with a real all-mouth smack of bitterness, It’s caramel in flavour with hints of smoky burnt-ness. It’s very drinkable as it’s also very warming and comfortable. It’s like putting on your slippers, or some fingerless gloves.

I give it a beer from glass rating of 7.5 out of 10.

Taste: BOTTLE – I take a sip of this from the bottle and immediately comment that it’s even more drinkable. It cuts the sharp bitterness (present in the glass) in half and enhances strong, complex flavours of toffee and caramel. Very enjoyable.

I give it a taste from bottle rating of 8 out of 10.

Accompanying food: Lamb cutlets would really do well beside this brew.

Best season to appreciate: Definitely more of a Winter warmer.

All-nighter beer? Taste-wise I could easily drink this bad boy all-night. But, I suspect it’d pack a whopper hangover. Perhaps the folk at Bridge Road can confirm or deny?

Other: Happy St Paddy’s Day to all those who celebrate this magical, mystical day on Saturday. Enjoy a few Celtic Red Ales and be happy.

NEXT WEEK: FNQ (don’t hit me, I’m not swearing at you. It’s a beer. I promise. FFS)

Comments
  1. Radio Snivins says:

    Another great one, ‘Kazoo.

    Unless you’ve tried Celtic Red Ale, my fellow ‘Kazoonauts, you won’t realise just how spot on ‘Kazoo’s review is. This beer is a masterpiece. It’s a genuine nine-out-of-tenner. In fact, it’s not even beer. It’s art. It’s boozism. I dabble in the style myself, so I know what I’m prittle-prattling about.

    Like

    • Mason Hell-Cat says:

      Dammitt Snivins you’ve done it again.
      Where was this filmed?

      Like

      • Radio Snivins says:

        It was filmed early Sunday evening in beautiful downtown Upper Ferntree Gully. I was making a mad dash to Murphett’s for fooze, for I was foozeless, but I didn’t realise they’d reverted to their winter closing time. Fortunately, there were four other booze-a-toriums within vomiting distance, but my choices were severely limited.

        Like

Leave a Reply

