140. Yowie Lager

Posted: April 18, 2012 in Australian lager
Tags: , , , , , ,

Yowie Lager

Company info:
King Valley Brewery
Wangaratta, V.I.C

[www.yowiebeer.com.au]

Alcohol: 4.6%
Standard drinks: 1.2

Cap type: Non-twist

Cost: I picked this up for $TBC AU

Label info: ‘At four feet tall with shaggy hair,
Lurks a little misunderstood guy,
Across the hills of King Valley,
His presence they can’t deny.

Seeking the finest barley and purest water,
A fertile landscape can offer,
The premium ingredients for a perfect brew,
To fill his winter coffer.

A lonesome being who guards his brew,
Just as any humanoid should,
We found the recipe within his lair,
In the deepest of the woods.

Preservative free and pure in process,
Whilst all the magic lives,
The smooth quenching flavour burst,
The Yowie’s Lager gives.’

What the label really means: Any label with a quaint little ditty like this is bound to succeed in my books. I want to taste the mystical recipe of this romanticised beast that roams the hills surrounding King Valley.

The Hell-Cat review starts here

Label: What I love most about this label is the ripped edge on the bottom of the main label, and on the neck label. It gives it a quaint, old worldy feel like a page ripped from the history books, perpetuating the myth of the yowie. The yowie himself is presented as a silhouetted white character with no discernible features aside from two long skinny arms, and a pair of skinny feet. It has a strong earthy feel to it.

I give it a label rating of 7.5 out of 10.

AROMA:  Citrussy, hoppy and fresh. It’s a familiar lager aroma.

Taste: GLASS – It’s a bit fuller in body than your regular lager, and I am pleasantly surprised by this. It’s a real meaty beer. With a delicious citrus under-current, it’s super easy to drink and rolls off the tongue with the sweetest of ease. A very enjoyable brew that would make the hardest of yowies curl up in a fetal position.

I give it a beer from glass rating of 7 out of 10.

Taste: BOTTLE – Just as flavoursome with a little more of an earthy tinge. A great drop, but perhaps a little bloaty from the bottle – stick to a glass.

I give it a taste from bottle rating of 7 out of 10.

Song of choice: Try this alongside Donovan’s ‘There is a Mountain

Accompanying food: I think Yowie Lager would really suit lamb…lamb kofta perhaps.

Best season to appreciate: A definite Summer brew.

All-nighter beer? Yes please! Yowie Lager would make for a great night….I found I was straining to get every last drop out of the bottle.

NEXT WEEK: Wing Walker India Pale Ale

Comments
  1. radiosnivins says:

    Well, I’ve just test guzzed a few Yowies, and I’m in near complete cahoots with ‘Kazoo. It’s not rickety. I can’t really elaborate, because I’ve had too many…hic. Elaboration should begin early in the session, after the first gulp, not after thirty-five. I can say that my one cahoot deviation is that I glugged it whilst listening to Mountain by Chocolate Starfish.

    Like

  2. BargeDave says:

    Hey Mase, is the next beer the Wingwalker American Pale Ale? I can’t seem to find an IPA by this name. Or are we just behind the times in South Australia?

    Like

    • radiosnivins says:

      Yes, but Wing Walker IPA is also one of those obscure to procure brews. I’m yet to find it, and I’m like a beer P.I. I must say, I wouldn’t mind poking around ‘Kazoo’s fooze-a-torium. They’ve got quite an assortment.

      Like

      • Mason Hell-Cat says:

        Sorry guys – I meant the Wingwalker Belgian Style Wheat Ale. Not sure where I got IPA from…

        Like

      • radiosnivins says:

        Wing Walker make an IPA. It’s one of those 7% jobbies – very rare, and a real wallet walloper. I’ve never met the stuff myself, but I once saw Ted Egan perform Tubular Bells on a carton of it.

        Like

  3. BargeDave says:

    Will have to hunt this one down. I’ve never been to it’s birthplace, Wangeratta, but the reference to this location in Austen Tayshus’ legendary Australiana means the merest mention always brings a smile to the dial.

    Like

    • radiosnivins says:

      Good safariing, Bargé. A word of advice: commit its name to memory. I didn’t. I wrote it on my todger so I wouldn’t forget it, but when I got to Murphett’s, I’d forgotten it. A lady Murphetteer noticed me adjusting myself in the beer aisle and asked if I needed assistance. I said, ‘yes’, and flashed my wanger at ‘er. So, to cut a short story even shorter, Murphett’s don’t sell Yowie, and I’m now on the sexual offenders register.

      Like

Leave a Reply

