141. Wingwalker Belgian Style Wheat Ale

Posted: April 29, 2012 in ale, International beer, Tough label
Tags: , , , ,

Wingwalker Belgian Style Wheat Ale

Company info:
RJ King Wingwalker Brewing Company
Rochester, NY, UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

[No website listed on bottle]

Alcohol: 4.6%
Standard drinks: 1.3

Cap type: Twist

Cost: I picked this up for $3.59 AU

Label info: N/A

What the label really means: N/A

The Hell-Cat review starts here

Label: Wingwalker brews pay homage to the great aero-entertainers that would climb out on the wings of a bi-plane and perform amazing stunts of bravery. This brew shows a bloke performing a hand-stand on the upperdeck, seemingly unsupported by any tetherings. These entertainers are the legends of a forgotten era and it makes me wonder how we even cope today without them. What joy they would have brought to little Billy the disabled boy with epilepsy as they announced they were taking to the skies with their own form of acrobatics. What laughter they would have shared with Sandra the girl everyone called ‘Miss Mute-alot’ due to her lack of tongue. These men (and women I presume, though we really only remember the male wingwalkers) are the forgotten comedians of a forgotten time. Finally they are recognised through a series of brews. And it’s hight time.

My only complaint with this label is that every single bottle I picked up was not glued properly. Huge creases lined the label. Is this any way to treat our air-heroes?

I give it a label rating of 7.5 out of 10.

AROMA:  It’s very subtle but sniff carefully and you’ll hit delicious fruity aromas.

Taste: GLASS – Very smooth, very wheaty. Wingwalker Belgian Style Wheat Ale is like a mild Hoegaarden – and this is a good thing as it’s an incredibly drinkable beer. Stick around for the subtle bitterness that follows as a nice after-taste. This is a very enjoyable brew.

I give it a beer from glass rating of 7.5 out of 10.

Taste: BOTTLE – Drink this from the bottle and you’ll realise that it quickly becomes a little less complex. But the strong wheat and citrus flavours are still there. Still a very enjoyable brew that I am heartily enjoying.

I give it a taste from bottle rating of 7.5 out of 10.

Song of choice: Try this alongside Motor Ace’s ‘American Shoes

Accompanying food: Something with tomato sauce…I’m thinking a good ol American hot-dog or perhaps a sausage roll….both smothered in plenty of tomato sauce.

Best season to appreciate: A Summer brew.

All-nighter beer? Yes please…it feels like this brew would easily be a good session beer.

NEXT WEEK: Dogbolter

Comments
  1. BargeDave says:

    My label was also poorly glued. Although I appreciated the citrus and hops flavours, I couldn’t get past the usual complaint I personally have of wheat beers – soapiness. It must just be my palette.

    Like

    • radiosnivins says:

      Label dodginess must be RJ King policy. Stop me if I’ve told this story before, but I mistakenly bought a sixer of Wingwalker American Pale Ale yesterday, and their labels were equally dodge. If I was a betting Snivins, and you know I am, I’d plonk my little all on the adhesive they use being Perkins Paste.

      Like

      • BargeDave says:

        The American Pale Ale was very drinkable, for mine. I wasn’t paying attention to the label quality tho. Having assembled labels for a fundraising wine effort, we applied labels photocopied onto regular 80gsm photocopy paper onto wine bottles with excellent results….using milk. I kid you not. We had a guy from the Barossa Valley on the team who knew all the tricks.

        Like

      • radiosnivins says:

        I know your water’s salty, Bargé. Stop me if I’ve told this story before, but on Anzac Day 2010, I pretended to be a returned Gurkha at the Iron Knob RSL two-up tournament. After cleaning up all comers, I drank a pitcher of tap water, for my mouth was dry from fibbing, and my blood pressure skyrocketed. I’ve been on a low sodium diet ever since.

        Like

    • radiosnivins says:

      I completely understand your soapy issues, Barge, and I’m not just saying that because you’re South Australian. Personally, I’m partial to a sudsy wheater, it transports me back to my primary school days when I used to attend class whiffled, and cuss like a Mark Latham, and get my mouth washed out with Sard. Wordsworth said it best: Boy is father to the man.

      Like

      • BargeDave says:

        That’s a scream, Sniv. Adelaide water is fairly disgusting but it’s salty rather than soapy. And believe it or not, it’s much better than it was 30 years ago. Back when I was a kid, if you left your dishes to drip-dry, you had to wipe the scum off them.

        Like

      • radiosnivins says:

        I know your water’s salty, Bargé. Stop me if I’ve told this story before, but on Anzac Day 2010, I pretended to be a returned Gurkha at the Iron Knob RSL two-up tournament. After cleaning up all comers, I drank a pitcher of tap water, for my mouth was dry from fibbing, and my blood pressure skyrocketed. I’ve been on a low sodium diet ever since.

        Like

      • BargeDave says:

        Yeah, the water in rural areas is even worse than Adelaide’s. Glad to hear your a fan of Iron Knob, Sniv.

        Like

      • radiosnivins says:

        I’ve been a fan of Iron Knob since I first saw it in an atlas in grade 5, and looking back through my primary school foozling diaries last night, I’ve also been a fan of Wingwalker Belgian Style Wheat Ale for the same time. I’d completely forgotten about it. I’m reacquainting myself with the stuff as I write this…hic…and I’m in agreement with young me. It’s a fine glug. ‘Kazoo’s review was spot on. Although, I differed back then from him in food accompaniment – I said a gingerbread man – and my choice of song was Shoop Shoop Diddy Wop Cumma Cumma Wang Dang. So, in both retrospective and present conclusion – eighteen out of twenty.

        Like

  2. Radio Snivins says:

    ‘Kazoo strikes again!

    I’m lookin’ forward to test guzzling this stuff, especially as my local and surrounding Murphettoriums have enacted the kybosh on Pure Blonde White.

    Like

Leave a Reply

