144. Moo Brew Dark Ale

Posted: May 20, 2012 in Australian ales
Tags: , , , , , ,

Moo Brew Dark Ale

Company info:
Moo Brew
‘Brewed at Moorilla’
Berriedale, T.A.S

[www.moobrew.com.au]

Alcohol: 5%
Standard drinks: 1.3

Cap type: Non-twist

Cost: I picked this up for $TBC AU

Label info: ‘This dark ale pays homage to the American Brown Ale style, presenting dark with a deep sherry-red hue. The palate has caramel and chocolate and a lightly roasted finish. Hop bitterness and aromatic character are balanced and pleasantly textured. Moo Brew contains no additives or preservatives and is not pasteurised. Store cold, drink fresh and enjoy ‘

What the label really means: This is a well devised beer description that reads as though it is a brew that strives towards excellence. I like the cheeky addition of the ‘not pasteurised’ line, ensuring we know that the brewers don’t take themselves too seriously.

The Hell-Cat review starts here

Label: Amazing. Not only is this one of the coolest shaped beer bottles I have ever seen, the label just reeks of absolute class and sophistication with a genuinely fun spirit. Down the bottom is what appears to be two red circled eyes, and pointy sharp teeth captured in a white bordered box. The back of the label tells us that this is an artwork entitled ‘Bubbles’ by John Kelly (2005). So while it may be perceived as a spirit or creature peering out at us from the darkness, it could also perhaps be bubbles floating above the presumed peaks of Tasmania. Either way there is a genuine air of intrigue to the design. Moo Brew have created a label and bottle design that not only looks cool, and holds beautifully, but is one that you’d be proud to hold.

I give it a label rating of 8.5 out of 10.

AROMA:  A chocolate, nutty, coffee aroma that smells warm and inviting with ever so subtle hints of spice.

Taste: GLASS – This is a delicious drop. Think liquified dark chocolate with an extra spoonful of bitterness thrown into the mix and you come close to describing the taste of Moo Brew Dark Ale. Sit back and take notice of all the flavours contained within this brew and you’ll spot hints of nut, toffee, and a very heavy roast. It’s very drinkable, very warming, and all-rounder that deserved to be noticed.

NB: I did have a bit of an effort in pouring this beer. I had the same problem I experienced a couple of weeks ago with Angry Man Pale Ale  in that froth spewed forth from the glass. With today’s tasting, I had to fight my way through the froth to give this review. Once through, you’ll find this one is worth fighting for.

I give it a beer from glass rating of 8 out of 10.

Taste: BOTTLE – I found drinking this brew from the bottle to be intensely fizzy. If I thought the glass was difficult, the bottle makes this brew unbearable. It is so intense that it is like sucking a shot of carbon dioxide straight from a gas cylinder. I’m getting hints of the flavours previously mentioned but this really is undrinkable – stick to the glass.

I give it a taste from bottle rating of 3.5 out of 10.

Song of choice: Try this alongside Gym Class Heroe’s ‘Ass Back Home

Accompanying food: This would suit a sweet dessert…perhaps a white chocolate mud cake or meringue.

Best season to appreciate: Definitely a Winter Warmer. This is a beer well suited to the Tasmanian climes. 

All-nighter beer? If there was a way to filter the excess carbonation easier, this may be a great all-nighter brew. I suspect however, that it would pack a powerful punch the next day…but what a night.

NEXT WEEK: TBC

Comments
  1. […] the label really means: I’m going to re-post exactly what I said when I reviewed Moo Brew Dark Ale (and then Moo Brew Pale Ale) as it’s just as apt here: ‘This is a well devised beer […]

    Like

  2. Captain Pugwash says:

    Excusez moi Monsieur Sniveaux et Monsieur Hell-Chat, but you’re both wrong. Albert Einstein was the brains behind Rolling Rock beer. He also invented comedy maps that resemble private parts.

    Like

    • radiosnivins says:

      I knew cuntography was a hobby of his, but I didn’t realise he invented the field. Sheesh! Just as well I haven’t been on Millionaire Hotseat yet. If they’d asked me that question I would’ve fluffed it and locked in Klaus Fuchs, which would surely have been an option. Thanks for learnin’ me, Pugalugaloo. I really mean that.

      Like

  3. Radio Snivins says:

    Well, I found one. One single bottle of Moo Brew Dark Ale. The only bottle in Upper Ferntree Gully and its environs. Oh, there were plenty of Moo Brew Pale Ales – squads of the stuff – and Moo Brew Belgo was none too rare – whatever a Belgo is – but when it came to Moo Brew Dark Ale, the shelves were emptier than a hermit’s address book. Alas, I’ve been on the wood alcohol this evening, but I intend to test guzzle the stuff lickety split on the ‘morrow.

    Like

    • Szechuan Moriarty says:

      Well, I tried it, and I was less than cock-a-hoop. In fact, I was John Wayne Bobbit in an abyss of nothingness – no cock and no hoop. I found it an extremely uninteresting guzzle. Mine had none of that chocolatey, nutty, toffee, roasty good stuff. It was just plain. It wasn’t even over carbonated, which makes me think I may have scored a bad bottle. I shall reserve my ‘nine out of ten’ until I’ve tried it again.

      Like

  4. Lois says:

    I’d love to try this!! It’s my dream to come to Tasmania and if i ever do I’m going to be sampling the beer!

    Like

    • Mason Hell-Cat says:

      Welcome aboard, Lois.

      The dream of going to Tasmania is one shared by billions right across the world. Known as the place ‘someplace warm, where the beer flows like wine, where beautiful women instinctively flock like the salmon of Capistrano’ it is a must see. I think. I haven’t been.

      Like

  5. radiosnivins says:

    I’ve never heard of this stuff. I shall mount an expedition for some this very arvo. That said, there’s no excuse for over carbonation. It’s 107 years since Einstein split the beer atom. That’s a lot of time to get it right.

    Like

    • Mason Hell-Cat says:

      Ever since Einstein left Tasmania he didn’t do a hell of a lot else did he? Oh, he also invented rock and roll.

      Like

      • Radio Snivins says:

        Apologies for being a corrective Colin, ‘Kazoo, but he invented roll and rock. It was a dyslexic D.J. who mispronounced it rock and roll, and the name stuck, but technically, it’s roll and rock.

        Like

Leave a Reply

