Cascade Stout

Company info:
Cascade Brewery
South Hobart, T.A.S

[www.cascadebreweryco.com.au]

Alcohol: 5.8%
Standard drinks: 1.7

Cap type: Twist

Cost: I picked this up for $TBC AU

Label info: ‘An authentic stout that has been a mainstay at our brewery for more than a century. For many discerning beer lovers this is simply one of Australia’s benchmark stouts’
AND
‘Perfect with Tasmanian oysters, rich desserts or a hearty beef stew, or turn it into Cascade Stout ice-cream’.

What the label really means: I gotta admit, the thought of stout ice-cream both scares and excites me all at once. One day I’ll have the guts to try this. But the most surprising thing I got from this label is the fact that this brew has been around for so long. Why is it only now, in 2012 that I discover it?

The Hell-Cat review starts here

Label: The best thing I like on this label is the cool old building, the Cascade brewery, standing tall among a forest of trees, and surrounded by snow cap mountains. I’m picturing blokes in overalls working from sunup to sundown to produce fine Cascade brews. The building has a sense of mystery to it, a sense of tradition, and a solid foundation. It’s how businesses were before the invention of the computer, microchips, and hair-nets. I want to look inside, I want to meet the 73 year old brewer slaving away over vats of beer, meticulously stirring every batch with a big wooden paddle. I want to see the tea-ladies, walking the halls of the offices that still allow smoking indoors, serving pots of Early Grey to typewriter weary managers. I want to hear ‘Good night Earl’, from the lowly security guard working the front gate beside a crackly wireless tuned to ABC National. Brilliant.

I give it a label rating of 8 out of 10.

AROMA:  A deliciously rich, smoky chocolate aroma.

Taste: GLASS – Soft carbonation means this brew is super smooth, allowing strong malty flavours to shine forth. Its rich, caramelised flavours that sing of dark chocolate not only bring strong levels of complexity but also a certain warmth that is not easily replicated. It’s like a fresh pair of slippers.

I give it a beer from glass rating of 8 out of 10.

Taste: BOTTLE – Just as delicious with a tad more emphasis on the malt. What a fine beer this…sit and savour it.

I give it a taste from bottle rating of 8 out of 10.

Accompanying food: Beef something or other…

Best season to appreciate: Definitely a by the fire Winter brew.

All-nighter beer? It’s perhaps a little dry but I’d say it would session nicely.

NEXT WEEK: TBC

Comments
  1. Diddlysquat says:

    Enjoying a glass now, perfect end to a winters day. Loving the roasted flavours. I only a recent convert to the dark side but must say so far this is my favourite.

    Like

    • BargeDave says:

      I enjoyed one on the weekend too. Nice chocolatey characters, a touch sweeter than, say, Coopers but not too sweet. Must correct Mase’s use of the ‘dark lager’ tag – this is a stout (which is an ale), not a lager.

      Like

  2. Radio Q. Snivins says:

    ‘Twas a frightening evening here in Upper Ferntree Gully last night. At 8:53pm Eastern Foozling Time, a 5.3 magnitude earthquake struck. That’s the equivalent of 10,000 Clive Palmer’s tripping over a draught excluder simultaneously. People ran out into the street clutching their loved ones, as did I – my five remaining Cascade Stouts. Yes, it was love at first stubbie. Cascade Stout has everything I’ve been looking for in a life partner, and it goes oojah-cum-giblet-giblet with a bowl of pork rinds and some plate shift. Nine out of ten.

    Like

    • Radio Q. Snivins says:

      Incidentally, I mentioned Carlton Black a few posts down. Cascade Stout and Carlton Black are a very similar tasting fooze. Cascade is foozier, ‘n’ walletier, but aside from that, I would have no hez in addressing Carlton Black as Claytons Cascade Stout. Gnuk! Gnuk! Gnuk! No, but seriously, Gnuk! Gnuk! Gnuk!

      Like

  3. Diddlysquat says:

    Sorry to get off topic Mason, but the Ballast Point Big Eye IPA is a superb drop, IPA’S in general are a super drop.

    Radio, how big a BBQ?

    Have not got around to trying the Coopers Stout yet, but I’m looking forward to it, its certainly Stout weather!

    Like

    • Radio Q. Snivins says:

      It’s a pocket hibachi, so it’s about the size of an Eskimo Pie. It’s great. You light it, hang it off your backpocket, and stroll, and when you reach your strolling destination, you scoff. I cooked a rissole on the way home from Murphett’s last night. Unfortunately, I forgot about it, until I sat down. Now, I’ve got a scar on my arse like a branding. In quiet moments, I find myself wondering, if someone was to steal the Snivins bod, would it be considered kidnapping, or rustling?

      Like

    • BargeDave says:

      Hey Diddlysquat, Coopers Stout was the first bevvie I bought when I turned 18. Still love the stuff many years later. If you mix the stout (‘yellow lable’ to regular Coopers drinkers) with a Coopers Sparkling Ale (‘red lable’), you get a superb black and tan which, thanks to a wag on this very blog, I know as ‘Orange Lable’. I concur about the Ballast Point IPA – excellent.

      Like

  4. BargeDave says:

    Hey Mase, I’ll keep an eye out for this. Cascade fans will have noticed it’s that time of year again when they release their seasonal First Harvest green hop beer. It’s Australia’s answer to Kentish Ale (ooh, controversial claim!)Definitely worth a review in the next couple of months, else we’ll be waiting until next year.

    Like

    • radiosnivins says:

      Thanks for the reminder, Barge. Alas, I went on a bit of a foozling pilgrimage during ‘Kazoo’s hiatus, and I’m now confined to the Coopers Birell ultra-light. It all started innocently, as these things do, one morning with a sixer of Carlton Black, which is chocolately ‘n’ smokey, like a Mars Bar cigar. It’s the best thing Fosters make in this Radio’s opinion. From there I sixered and slabbed my way through Monteith’s Black Beer, Monteith’s Winter Ale, La Trappe Quadrupel, Choc Hops chocolate stout, Coopers Celebration Ale, Ballast Point IPA, Dundee IPA, Negra Modelo, Oettinger Pils, and finally, and certainly least, Hahn Harvest. I loved ’em all, except for Hahn Harvest. Too sweet, and too ickish.

      Like

      • radiosnivins says:

        Actually, I didn’t love La Trappe Quadrupel either. I never thought I’d hear myself write these words, but at 10% it was too strong. It did encourage me to steal a barbecue though, so I can’t be too critical of the stuff.

        Like

      • BargeDave says:

        Yeah, Hahn Harvest was a disappointment. The Coopers Celebration effort (happy 150th to the now biggest Australian-owned brewer!) was tasty, imho. I found the Trappe Tripel hard to cope with and would need to tackle a Quadrupel off a very long run-up.

        Like

      • Radio Q. Snivins says:

        Celebration Ale is superdooper. It’s very IPA’ish. IPA’s are my new chum of choice. Oh, and while I’m at it, a big dollop of responsible kudos to XXXX Gold for becoming the biggest selling beer in the country.

        Also, my lawyer has advised me to declare that I didn’t really nick a barbecue after the Quadrupel session. It followed me home. I just said I swiped it to be a big noter.

        Like

      • BargeDave says:

        Tried a Quadrupel yesterday. Surprisingly not hard to drink (can’t actually say ‘easy’, but for a 10% alc super-malty beer it could have been much worse).

        Like

Leave a Reply

