151. Cascade First Harvest

Posted: July 26, 2012 in Australian ales
Tags: , , , , , ,

Cascade First Harvest

Company info:
Cascade Brewery

South Hobart, T.A.S

[www.cascadebreweryco.com.au]

Alcohol: 5.5%
Standard drinks: 1.6

Cap type: Twist

Cost: I picked this up for $4.60 AU

Label info: ‘Once a year at the first harvest of hops in Tasmania’s Derwent Valley, we hand select new hop varieties to brew a single batch of premium beer’
AND
‘Campania, Triabunna and Ellendale hops were hand picked to source the fresh flavour First Harvest is renowned for. Crafted at the Cascade Brewing Company, Hobart Tasmania’.

What the label really means: The fact this beer is a single batch, made on one day of the year, every year is very exciting for all beer drinkers and fans. The label conveys this excitement, and the sense of uniqueness. 

The Hell-Cat review starts here

Label: The label proclaims Cascade First Harvest as being a ‘pure green hop brew’ and this is reflected in the imagery beautifully. The green hops adorning the label suggest freshness, vitality, growth, life and the start of a new season. It’s a label that is exciting and bold, and there in the background sits that staunch old brewery building that I have written about previously. I love it.

I give it a label rating of 7 out of 10.

AROMA:  Delicious fresh, fruity hops.

Taste: GLASS – I am pleasantly surprised by the amber colour of this beer. I think I was expecting a light, golden colour. One sip I am hit by an ale that is zesty, bursting with flavour, and refreshing. This is a beer that excites all the senses, delivers a refreshing cleanse of the palate and an all mouth punch of deliciousness. For some reason I expected this would be an overly citrus infused brew and I am instead surprised by swirls of gentle caramelisation that lift this beer to great heights.

I give it a beer from glass rating of 8 out of 10.

Taste: BOTTLE – Drink Cascade First Harvest and you’ll get a different taste sensation again. It’s not necessarily better or worse from the bottle, but now I am getting enhanced caramelisation and bitterness with a genuine back of mouth beauty. It’s not as zesty and probably a little drier but damn this is delicious.

I give it a taste from bottle rating of 8 out of 10.

Accompanying food: Poultry…I am suggesting turkey would sit well beside this.

Best season to appreciate: Because of the darker tones, I feel this is more of a Winter brew. Perfect for drinking right now.

All-nighter beer? Very much so! Bring it on!

NEXT WEEK: Coronado Orange Avenue Wit

Comments
  1. Lois says:

    I’d love to try some one day!!

    Like

  2. Radio Snivins says:

    I test guzzled First Harvest last winter. It was so abundant at my local Murphettorium back then that I could’ve shot a pea out of my nose in any direction and it would’ve landed on a sixer of the stuff. Now, it’s rarer than a Fabergé dim sim. That invariably means it’s either very good, or very bad, or somewhere in between. I can’t remember which one I thought it was, and the entry in my foozling diary is illegible on account of my having written it with my foot.

    Like

    • Radio Snivins says:

      Kaloo! Kalay! I found some. Apparently, they come in four-packs. I’m poz my last year’s dalliance was in sixer form, although I wouldn’t bet cheese on it. Yer, so, being an I.P.A. fiend, I reckon First Harvest glugs like a safety I.P.A. It’s similar to Coopers Celebration Ale, which also glugs like a safety I.P.A. There’s a lot of it going around. Not that there’s anything wrong with it. I’ve invented a word for beers of this ilk – pocopotossius.

      Like

      • Radio Snivins says:

        Also, I’m keenly interested to read people’s thoughts on Coronado this week. I met some ten days ago during an I.P.A. blackout at my local Murphettorium, and before ‘Kazoo trumpeted his review intention, and without giving too much away, I really enjoyed it, but I honestly thought it had been mislabelled.

        Like

      • BargeDave says:

        Howdy Sniv. I’m pretty sure it’s been in 4-pack form for a few years now, but I also wouldn’t be betting cheese on this. I suspect that the high hop content would substantially add to the production cost, as hops are the most expensive component in beer unless you’re adding truffles as an adjunct. Thus 4-packs costing the same as a regular sixer are sadly the way to go. But when you drink it, you can see where you’re money has gone, and it’s still good value.

        Like

      • radiosnivins says:

        You make some cheese bettingly good points, Bargé. I wish I could make them, but, alas, I’m factoid intolerant. Still, mustn’t blub.

        Like

  3. BargeDave says:

    This is a great Australian beer. Why doesn’t every brewer have a green hop brew? It is awesome stuff. I think it compares interestingly with Kentish ales. Perhaps less malt complexity, but it makes it easier to drink and it doesn’t have to be room temperature to get the full effect, so it’s just as good if you’ve wandered in from mowing the lawn as a tasty pilsener. An Australian twist on a British classic.

    Like

    • Mason Hell-Cat says:

      With you all the way, BD!

      Like

    • radiosnivins says:

      If you chaps haven’t already given Mac’s Hop Rocker Pilsener a glug, then you should. It’s not in First Harvest league, but it’s an above average hoppy brew from New Zealand, and, dare I say it, it’s hoptastically good value – 12 walletworms a sixer at Murphett’s ‘n’ Woolies. I don’t have the walnut wattage for food and song matching, but I reckon it would go ooblah-cum-giblet-giblet with some Magic Hat #9, and a ukelele version of Wuthering Heights.

      Like

      • BargeDave says:

        The Hop Rocker is great stuff, also previously been reviewed on these magnificent pages. Was available at that great price near me recently, sadly it’s gone back up now.

        Like

      • Radio Snivins says:

        Ah. I really should’ve done a search before commenting. I see that review was in October 2010, which was during my ashram period.

        Like

      • Radio Snivins says:

        If only ‘Kazoo had posted it astrally, I wouldn’t look so foolish.

        Like

      • Mason Hell-Cat says:

        You’re forgiven Snivelly! It was cheap at my local bottlo a few months back and I was buying 6-er after 6-er of it….great stuff.

        Like

Leave a Reply

