154. Day of the Long Shadow

Posted: August 22, 2012 in Australian ales
Tags: , , , ,

Day of the Long Shadow

Brewery info:
Little Creatures Brewing
Fremantle, W.A.

[No website listed]

Bottle size sampled: 568ml

Alcohol: 8.9%
Standard drinks: 4

Cap type: Non-twist

Cost: I picked this up for $7.99 AU

Label info: ‘Brewers’ Scribble
Day of the Long Shadow
Spiced Winter Ale

As the sun of the winter solstice casts a long shadow across the cold land, our flavour craving palates start drifting to the thought of winter warmers and the great tradition of European spiced ales. Christmas hints of allspice, cinnamon and nutmeg play with a yeast primed with dark muscovado sugar delivering ripe fruit, molasses and delicate spice. UK sovereign and Challenger hops provide a gentle lasting bitterness that carefully balance this deep red ale rich in flavour and complexity. Best savoured long into a cold winter night, sipped slowly while solving those elusive problems of the world… chesterfield and fireplace optional’.

What the label really means: Upon reading this label description, I can understand why you may immediately think of the incredible ‘There is no Santa‘. It sounds warm and comforting, and has a lot to live up to. Definitely sounds like a lot of effort and love has gone in to creating this brew.

The Hell-Cat review starts here

Label: The label consists of what looks on first glance to be a well-constructed oil painting depicting an old tin shed basking in the afternoon sunlight, standing amidst a field of snow (something I’m unsure the Western Australian based brewers see much of). The doors to the old tin shed are flung wide open, inviting the weary traveller inside. In place of any human, a dog peers into the darkness with a red scarf hanging around its neck. It seems intrigued and cautious but desperate to get out of the cold.
I do like the label as it conjures up feelings of warmth, inclusion, and friendship. The oil painting style makes it seem a little quaint, traditional, and authentic.

I give it a label rating of 6.5 out of 10.

AROMA:  Toasted malty goodness.

Taste: GLASS – Day of the Long Shadow presents a rich, chocolaty sensation flowing through every mouthful. It’s extremely malt-heavy, very bitey, and surprisingly heavy and dry. There’s a real back of mouth bitterness that serves to enhance the drop, but it feels as though there is too much going on here. It’s a good, well crafted beer but I can’t help feeling it’s as though Little Creatures are trying to pack every possible taste into the one bottle and it feels a little confused.

I give it a beer from glass rating of 7 out of 10.

Taste: BOTTLE – From the bottle, Day of the Long Shadow is actually a tad better. It’s not as dry, not as heavy, and cuts to the chase in releasing some fine malty bitterness. Toasted caramel now emerges as the driving force behind this brew, and that’s a good thing.

I give it a taste from bottle rating of 7.5 out of 10.

Accompanying food: I would suggest beef for this sucker.

Best season to appreciate: Definitely a Winter warmer.

All-nighter beer? Not for me I’m afraid…it’s just a bit too heavy. Also, don’t forget this is a 8.9% beer…so I don’t know that I’d last all night on this even if I tried.

NEXT WEEK: TBC

Comments
  1. Radio Snivins says:

    Another superdooper, spot on, ‘Kazoo review, ‘Kazoo. Long Shadow is eff awful stuff. I invested 60 round trip kilometres to get some this morning. Alas, it’s not a 60 kilometre beer. The only poz thing I can say about it is that there’s none left. Even the label tasted odd. No, I’m not a fan.

    Like

    • Mason Hell-Cat says:

      60kms? Ouch! I should have warned you first.

      Like

      • Radio Snivins says:

        Yeth. Yeth. Still, not to blub. You weren’t to know how far I’ll go to get on the outside of an untried beer, and then the inside of a wall cavity, à la a foozelated Agent 13, and it could’ve been worse. I could’ve walked fifty flamin’ miles to a pub that only sells Reschs Real Bitter.

        Like

  2. diddlysquat says:

    Radio Snivins unexpectedly arrived on my doorstep some 20 mins ago with a cheesy grin and bottle of Little Creatures Long Shadow and a sixer of Karl Strauss IPA.

    I don’t much like the Long Shadow, it’s syrupy and reminds me of Benadryl. I did however note that after 1/2 a bottle Radio was eyeing of my wall cavity.

    The Karl Strauss Tower 10 IPA however is a quality beer, even better IMO than my beloved Big Eye IPA from last weeks review.

    Like

  3. Radio Snivins says:

    Day of the Long Shadow is rare cheese down here in Upper Ferntree Gully and surrounding districts – possibly even extinct cheese. That is, it’s nowhere to be found. A chap would have more chance finding a talking gherkin. Radio’s not ready to surrender just yet though. Vulneratus non victus – wounded, but not conquered.

    Like

  4. Radio Snivins says:

    Well, well, well. Just when I think ‘Kazoo has exhausted his hat, he reaches into it, and pulls something out of it. Kudos to you, ‘Kazoo, and kudos to your milliner. I’ve never heard of the stuff, but I look forward to test guzzing it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

