161. Beez Neez

Posted: October 28, 2012 in Australian ales
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Beez Neez

Company info:
Matilda Bay Brewing Company
Port Melbourne, V.I.C.

[www.matildabay.com]

Bottle size sampled: 345ml

Alcohol: 4.7%
Standard drinks: 1.3

Cap type: Non-Twist

Cost: I picked this up for $3.99 AU

Label info: ‘A unique hand crafted specialty beer. Pale golden colour with honey aromas. A light malt palate and just a hint of bitterness on the crisp, clean and refreshing finish. It is quite simply, the Beez Neez of beers

What the label really means: Straight to the point and enlightening.

The Hell-Cat review starts here

Label: It’s jack-o-lantern orange makes this label very unique (happy Halloween btw everyone!). It’s warming, cheery and bright. I like the bold ‘Beez Neez’ smeared across the middle of the label like it’s been ripped from underneath the traditional label above. It’s rough and ready, tough and uncompromising. I am very surprised at how well the orange works, and really think this is one well designed label.

I give it a label rating of 7.5 out of 10.

AROMA:  Wheaty, fresh, zesty, hoppy. Smells good.

Taste: GLASS – I can detect very subtle hints of honey mixed in with this very gently brew. I note an unflattering after-taste of a watered down brew where the flavours have all but dispersed. In fact it’s so unflattering it’s almost dirty dishwasher tasting. Put that aside, swallow quick, and you’ll find this is an easy to drink ale but that’s where it ends. It’s a bit too generic and boring, and I need more flavour.

I give it a beer from glass rating of 6.5 out of 10.

Taste: BOTTLE – From the bottle, Beez Neez cuts to the watery flavour even quicker. It’s flavourless, lack-lustre, and really tastes like it could well be Matilda Bay’s demented problem child.

I give it a taste from bottle rating of 6 out of 10.

Accompanying food: Lamb…lamb sausages in particular. Perhaps with some chargrilled vegies. Bring it.

Best season to appreciate: An afternoon sun brew – Summer.

All-nighter beer? It’s easy to drink all night, as I discovered on the weekend, so in that sense it’s an all-nighter. But expect, as I did, to feel a little cheated by it.

NEXT WEEK: Fig Jam IPA

Comments
  1. YoungSC says:

    I had this in a pub a couple of years ago and it was very enjoyable. The honey added some richness, but wasn’t honey tasting per say.

    I just bought a carton and the present version doesn’t live up to my memory. Disappointed, but at least it’s a refreshing summer beer.

    Like

  2. Radio Snivins says:

    I oozed into my local Woolies fooze-a-torium this arvo for some pre and post mow beer, and found they’d reduced all their 640mL Sleeping Giant IPA’s to three walletworms a pop, which is terrif val – they’re normally seven Apparently, the stuff’s not a big seller, and they need the fridge space for the new VB’s, so I bought the last seventeen bottles.  I’m five in, and the thought occurred to me that you never hear about people getting addicted to ointment. What a blemish-free world we would we live in if you did … hic

    Like

    • How come you didn’t buy 17 of the new VB Mason? And what does it say that Sleeping Giant is not a big seller? I sampling a Little Creatures sing batch ‘Puffing Billy’ at the moment. Not a bad drop.

      Like

      • Radio Snivins says:

        I wrote that comment, Bernsteen. Me. Radio. ‘Kazoo is in no way affiliated with it.

        I won’t hear a bad word said about Sleeping Giant. Sleeping Giant was my road to Damascus IPA. I won’t hear a bad word said about it. Besides, I don’t think any IPA’s are big sellers. IPA’s are a connoisseur’s beer. I remember the first time I tried an IPA. I returned the unglugged portion to shop and demanded a refund on the grounds that the stuff was off. I was not a connoisseur. When my request was unforthcoming, I was forced to summit the counter and threaten to piss in the Chupa Chups unless I received satisfaction. In court, the judge, who had also tried IPA, and was also not a connoisseur, ruled my actions were justified, and dismissed all charges. The system works.

        Like

      • Radio Snivins says:

        Unfortunately, Bernsteen, not all IPA’s are created equal. I learnt that lesson the distasteful way – by tasting it. Stop me if I’ve told this story before, for I chronically repeat myself, but once upon a time, I thought I’d discovered an unknown little gem of a beer named Tui East India Pale Ale. I procured a sixer of the stuff post-pronto, and then I skipped to the nearest brotherhood bin. I literally skipped, for I was excited. Safely ensconced inside one of St. Vincent de Paul’s finest, I took my first gulp, and then I winced, and looked at the remaining five and said to ’em, ‘I’d rather have Lemmy from Motörhead’s fascinating facial lumps than drink the rest of you guys.’ True story.

        Like

  3. Radio Snivins says:

    I never realised Beez Neez was a wheater. I love wheaters. I’ve seen it on the shelf, on many occasions, but I’ve never purchased the stuff, nor gone in for a closer look. As of 9:05 tomorrow, Eastern Upper Ferntree Gully Foozling Time, my folly shall be rectified. I present the following elipsis in anticipation …

    Like

    • Radio Snivins says:

      … Egads! What a shonky wheater Beez Neez is. In fact, I wouldn’t have even known it was a wheater if I hadn’t already known it was a wheater. That’s an indictment on the stuff, but you’ve gotta expect to be pooh-poohed when you grow a wheater that has no orange notes, nor coriander notes, nor honey notes, which is s’posed to be your banner ingredient. It’s my ill-considered opin that wheaters of this rotteny ilk are only fit for emergency fooze-ups, and in the absence of an emergency, piffed at cyclists. Thankyou, and goodnight.

      Like

      • Radio Snivins says:

        Ooh, I almost forgot. Mucho lucko with your radio thing tonight, ‘Kazoo. I’ll be listening, and I’ll also be untrousered, as I am every Monday night.

        Like

      • Captain pugwash says:

        I took your advice mr sniv and launched a beez neez at a cyclist. but the beer was so bad that the cyclists threw iit back at you.

        But on the upside, I can’t wait to hear about the fig beer that’s up next.

        Yours in anticipation,

        Cap’n Pug xoxo

        Like

      • Captain pugwash says:

        I meant they threw it back at ME. Not you sniv. Nobody would ever be foolish enough to hurl a beez neez in your direction. Not after the Toowoomba lager bunging competition of ’67. Nearly caused an international incident on a similar scale to the Cuban missile crisis, as I recall.

        Like

      • Radio Snivins says:

        Thankyou, Pug. Kind words. As a cyclist, I wish I was immune to lager lobbers, but, alas, nup. I don’t recall ever having a Beez Neez whizz past my nose, but I get plenty of half-guzzled VB’s, with accompanying obscenities. My rebuttal strategy is to bamboozle ’em by yelling back ‘D-O-P-P-L-E-R E-F-F-E-C-T. That bamboozles ’em.

        Like

      • Mason Hell-Cat says:

        Oh you crazy kids…. *shakes head and slowly backs out of room*

        Btw, thanks for attempting to listen to my radio show Snivelly. Sadly a power failure ensured I didn’t go to air. But next Monday I’ll do the same show I had planned for this week!

        Like

      • Radio Snivins says:

        No wuckers, ‘Kazoo. I empathise with ya. The curse of Halloween bepumpkined me on Saturday. Stop me if I’ve told this story before, but on Saturday, I popped into my local Murphettorium for some pre and post mow beer, and they had a pumpkin ale tasting, so I tasted some, and then I bought some, and I woke up Sunday morning with my grass uncut and my head feeling like a South Australian was living in it.

        Like

  4. My thoughts exactly Mason. It’s a nothing beer. Grossly overrated.

    Like

    • Mason Hell-Cat says:

      Thanks Bernie – great to have you join the chaos of Hell-Cat’s Beer Blog.
      I welcome your (and everyone’s!) thoughts on all reviewed brews.

      Like

    • Radio Snivins says:

      Yer, it’s a nothing wheater, but it would make an average draught. They should rebadge it, and then we can hoik scorn on it from the draught camp. I’d like that.

      The wheater genre is in a parlous state, and getting parlouser. My two favourite cheapies, Hahn White and Pure Blonde White, which actually tasted orangey and coriandery, and made pleasant summer evening foozling, have both gone the way of the Polly Waffle, and as for Wingwalker, well, I hope he falls of. Parlous state.

      Like

Leave a Reply

