Red Bitter - BOTTLERed Bitter
Australia flag - SMALL

Company info:
Tooheys Pty Ltd
Lidcome, N.S.W

[No website listed]

Bottle size sampled: 375 mL

Alcohol: 4%
Standard drinks: 1.2

Cap type: Twist

Cost: I picked this up for $2.99 AU

Label info: ‘N/A’

What the label really means: N/A

The Hell-Cat review starts here

Label: This is one of those mass-produced labels that is easily identifiable. If someone walks into your field of vision holding one of these suckers you instantly know that it’s Red Bitter (or Tooheys Red as most people call it). The red is used very effectively in making this one hell of a bold label – the white lettering stick out in great contrast. I am more than ready to toss this label to the beer label scrap yard when I spot one thing – a drawing of a bloke. A stern bloke. A bloke with an open shirt and a fist full of beer. He stares out with stoic readiness. Perhaps he’s a bartender, perhaps he’s just a bloke ready to enjoy a beer. He’s most definitely a bloke that means business. It’s for him that this label scores anything above a -3.

I give it a label rating of 3 out of 10.Red Bitter - GLASS

AROMA: It’s a meaty, strong, full bodied aroma that heralds the beer within.

Taste: GLASS – One sip of Red Bitter and you’ll realise this is by no means a bitter. This is one very, very mild brew. It’s watery and lacks any distinct flavours. It actually tastes like it is past its use-by date, a little under carbonated and very dull. I expected something along the lines of Victoria Bitter and instead get what tastes like 1 part Tooheys New, 1 part Corona, 1 part water. Disappointing.

I give it a beer from glass rating of out of 10.

Taste: BOTTLE – Very much the same, if not a tad better… This is a beer designed to be thrown back quickly and this is no more evident than when drinking from the bottle. It remains a flavourless, watery brew and I am struggling to think of something nice to say about it.

I give it a taste from bottle rating of 3.5 out of 10.

Accompanying food: For some reason I am lusting after a dagwood dog / pluto pup with plenty of tomato ketchup running all down the sides

Best season to appreciate: A Summer brew

All-nighter beer? Not for me. Sure, it’s easy to drink and you could technically drink it all night but it’s just too horrid. I admit I couldn’t even finish this bottle (this has happened to me like twice in my entire life).

THANKS: to all my regular readers throughout 2012. I have appreciated your input, your critiques, and your sense of humour. Keep it up and I’ll see you in early 2013 – Happy New Year.

NEXT WEEK: Puffing Billy

Comments
  1. Radio Snivins says:

    I didn’t realise Red Bitter is the old Tooheys Red. Tooheys Red was a respectable beer. You wouldn’t mind being seen canoodling in public with Tooheys Red, whereas Red Bitter is strictly behind the shelter sheds type stuff.

    Like

Leave a Reply

