Hef - BOTTLEHef

Company info:
Burleigh Brewing Co
Burleigh Heads, Q.L.D

[www.burleighbrewing.com]
AND
[hefbeer.com.au]

Bottle size sampled: 330 mL

Alcohol: 5%
Standard drinks: 1.3

Cap type: Non-twist

Cost: I picked this up for $3.99 AU

Label info: ‘See why those in the know insist on the ‘mo’ at hefbeer.com.au’

What the label really means: From going to the website, I think I understand what this obscure label text means. I think Burleigh Brewing are suggesting that German men that know a good beer (particularly a hefeweizen), have mustaches and will enjoy this beer. Or people that know good beer will insist on the Hef, and call it the ‘mo’. It’s a catchy bit of text, it’s a clever bit of marketing to suggest the Hef will be enjoyed by the style’s creators. Yes it’s obscure but it got me to look a their website. So perhaps it is successful. But I’m still a little confused.

The Hell-Cat review starts here

Label: The old style text of ‘Hef’ makes this beer an instant hit. It looks classical, and steeped in history, like a brew from the 1920s. Above the text a massive mustache (alluded to in the text) sits there like that from a 1920s barber. Predominantly orange in colour, the label has a matte finish and feels warm and inviting. I like the fact that the label is uncluttered, simple, and bold.

I give it a label rating of 7 out of 10.Hef - GLASS

AROMA: A good wheaty aroma with a hint of fruitiness

Taste: GLASS – This is one delicious hefeweizen. It has traces of it being a little like Hoegaarden, and then kicks it into over-drive as only Burleigh Brewing can. There’s a delightful fruity flavour of what I detect is rockmelon that bursts its way through the wheaty flavours. I am really enjoying this sucker.

I give it a beer from glass rating of out of 10.

Taste: BOTTLE – Much the same from the bottle but perhaps a little less complex. This really is a beer worth trying, though I recommend sticking to the glass.

I give it a taste from bottle rating of 7.5 out of 10.

Accompanying food: I feel pork would compliment this brew well – mostly for the saltiness. Salty baked pumpkin or sweet potato is my recommendation for the vegos among us.

Best season to appreciate: A good Summer brew, dig.

All-nighter beer? Yes please. I finished this bottle and needed another immediately.

NEXT WEEK: TBC 

Comments
  1. jared says:

    Personally not a fan of this brew. Unlike most German styled Australian beers this tastes watered down and with a price tag of 5 dollars a bottle id rather go somewhere else. 4/10

    Like

  2. radiosnivins says:

    Hef changed my life. Stop me if I’ve told this story before, but I was one of those passionate farouks you observe on street corners, dressed in a garbag, ranting at volume about the parlous state of the wheater market. Hef made my rant obsolete, which allows me to spend more time on my first love – burning old car tyres in the backyard. Nine out of ten.

    Like

    • Radio Snivins says:

      I popped into my local Murphett’s this morning and the first thing I spotted was their overflowing end of bin bin. I poked around it, and found Matilda Bay Redbacks for $1 a pop. I didn’t realise Redbacks were wheaters, and if I did, I’d forgotten, so I stashed up on ’em. They didn’t disappoint. They’re a fine wheater. It would appear my protestations at passersby about the the PWM (parlous wheater market) where injudicious and unfounded. I’m reminded of the old whiffler’s maxim – if you stagger into a booze-a-torium ten seconds after it opens, and you can’t spot the foozehead, then it’s probably you…hic

      Like

Leave a Reply

