Pumpkin Ale - BOTTLEPumpkin Ale

Company info:
Gage Roads Brewing Co.
Palmyra, W.A.

[www.gageroads.com.au]

Bottle size sampled: 640 mL

Alcohol:
 4.5%
Standard drinks: 2.3

Cap type: Non-twist

Cost: I picked this up for $5.49AU

Label info: ‘Pumpkin Ale??!!! What the…? Yep, it’s another one of those polarising beer styles; you’ll either love it or hate it! Pumpkin Ales were traditionally brewed in the Americas during the colonial period, when early settlers used pumpkins to brew beer to replace barley and other cereal crops which were in scarce supply. Revived again in the US during the 1980s, this classic seasonal beer is now released by brewers worldwide during Halloween. Real pumpkin, cinnamon, nutmeg and ginger were used to create this fresh ale which bursts of pumpkin pie! Brewed by Fussy Bastards!’

What the label really means: Interesting! I love coming across pieces of beer history such as the story on this label. Definitely sounds enticing from the label, backed up by an interesting past.

The Hell-Cat review starts here

Label: I like the simple, bold nature of this label. Given a bit of a roughed up look, it harks back to the beer’s origins. It’s a bit cartoon-like in style and enhances a celebratory Halloween feel. Look at the top of the pumpkin and notice the tap sticking right out the top of it. It makes me wonder if beer has ever been brewed using the pumpkin as a fermenter? The mind boggles.
Definitely a label I am appreciating.

I give it a label rating of 8 out of 10.

AROMA:  There is a very attractive aroma of nutmeg emerging.Pumpkin Ale - GLASS

Taste: GLASS – Wow – this is one very enjoyable brew. As hinted in the aroma, the predominant flavour swirling through this beer is nutmeg with perhaps a hint of cinnamon. The great thing about these flavours is that they are not over-powering, and serve to really carry this beer to greatness. No real pumpkin flavours are discernible, but wow this is a really great drop.

I give it a beer from glass rating of 8.5 out of 10.

Taste: BOTTLE – Drinking this from the bottle is a little disappointing. Naturally those beautiful aromas are lost, but the beer also loses points for becoming a little watery tasting. The nutmeg flavour is still there, clinging desperately to life, but it’s overcome by a noticeable lack of complexity. Stick to the glass.

I give it a taste from bottle rating of 7 out of 10.

Accompanying food: I would really love to drink this with a beautifully made pumpkin pie dessert. The nutmeg (a natural accompaniment to pumpkin) present in the beer would really pop out.

Best season to appreciate: Pumpkin Ale is light and sparkly enough to be a good Summer brew, but I keep picturing myself sitting down beside an open fire, drinking this with pumpkin pie. I believe Winter would work best for this beer.

All-nighter beer? Yes please!

NEXT WEEK: Dundee India Pale Ale

Comments
  1. Radio Snivins says:

    Regular gawkers of these pages may recall my account of my ill-fated encounter with Pumpkin Ale last year …

    … The curse of Halloween bepumpkined me on Saturday. Stop me if I’ve told this story before, but on Saturday, I popped into my local Murphettorium for some pre and post mow beer, and they had a pumpkin ale tasting, so I tasted some, and then I bought some, and I woke up Sunday morning with my grass uncut and my head feeling like a South Australian was living in it.

    In short, I got foozebombed on the stuff, and that’s all I’ve got to say on the matter.

    Like

Leave a Reply

