170. Dundee India Pale Ale

Posted: February 13, 2013 in ale, traditional looking label
Tags: , , , , , ,

Dundee India Pale Ale - BOTTLEDundee India Pale Ale
USA flag - SMALL

Company info:
Dundee Brewing Co

NY, U.S.A.

[www.dundeebeer.com]

Bottle size sampled: 355 mL

Alcohol:
 6.3%
Standard drinks: 1.8

Cap type: Non-twist

Cost: I picked this up for $3.99AU

Label info: N/A

What the label really means: N/A

The Hell-Cat review starts here

Label: I have admired this label from afar for some time. I am always drawn in by the mystique of the ship in a bottle, balanced atop a hardcover book. Ships in bottles are always amazing but this one is made even more so by the inclusion of a rough sea beneath it, and a strong headwind evidenced by the flag on the mast flowing free. It has a historical, traditional feel to it, enhanced by the font used and I really admire that. It looks classy, it looks distinguished, it looks homely.

I give it a label rating of 8 out of 10.

AROMA: Deliciously subtle malty aromas.

Taste: GLASS – This is one damned smooth brew that is very easy to drink. Some strong bitter caramelised flavours emerge and its quite clearly IPA in style. However, it’s not as intense as other IPAs on the market and may serve as a good introduction to the style. Its presents itself as a very tasty beer and I am enjoying it.Dundee India Pale Ale - GLASS

I give it a beer from glass rating of 7.5 out of 10.

Taste: BOTTLE – The bitterness is intensified a tad now, which isn’t necessarily a bad thing. It does become a lot heavier in taste, and not as smooth, but it’s just as good. If anything, I feel the complexity of this brew is reinforced and enhanced now.

I give it a taste from bottle rating of 7.5 out of 10.

Accompanying food: Roast turkey with roast veggies. I do not recommend anything spicy with this as it’s a beer that packs enough of a punch on its own.

Best season to appreciate: More of a cooler weather beer due to the darker flavours within.

All-nighter beer? It’s probably not a beer I could drink all night as it is very head-strong.

NEXT WEEK: Endeavour Growers Ale

Comments
  1. Diddlysquat says:

    Nice review. I have recommended this drop to a few friends as an introductory IPA in the past and feedback has been good.
    Radio Snivins and I have had a few sessions with this one. However by the fourth or fifth the bitterness of the hops overwhelmed my mouth. Best enjoyed one or two at a time.

    Like

    • Radio Snivins says:

      Diddlypoop speaks for himself. The bitterness doesn’t overwhelm my gob. I glug on and finish my twelve, and if I’m still feeling uprightish, I’ll kick a burning bog roll ’round the street.

      Like

  2. radiosnivins says:

    Having all-nighted Dundee as research for this review, the ship in the bottle should be renamed the U.S.S. Hangover. Nine out of ten.

    Like

Leave a Reply

