171. Endeavour Growers Ale (2012)

Posted: February 20, 2013 in Australian ales
Tags: , , , , ,

Growers Ale - BOTTLEEndeavour Growers Ale (2012)


Company info:
Endeavour Beverages Pty Ltd
Sydney, N.S.W

[www.endeavourbeer.com]

Bottle size sampled: 330 mL

Alcohol: 4.2%
Standard drinks: 1.1

Cap type: Non-screw

Cost: I picked this up for $3.99

Label info: ‘A crafted Australian ale made in tribute to the barley and hop growers who provide us their freshest ingredients every harvest‘.

What the label really means: Sounds great. Bring it on, Endeavour.

The Hell-Cat review starts here

Label: Taking a step away from their other labels, Endeavour presents us with a label that is clear, on a green bottle. The text seems to float on the bottle, popping out like the credits of a 3D film. I’m not always a fan of the clear label but here it has been put to remarkably good use.

I give it a label rating of 7 out of 10.

AROMA: Citrussy fresh….clean…

Taste: GLASS – This is one hell of a crisp, clean, refreshing beer. It is so surprisingly tasty that my mouth is hanging in a wide open ‘O’ gesture after every sip. There is so much flavour in every drop, and while a citrus undercurrent pushes this beer along, it’s the prominent hop performance that keeps this brew afloat on clouds of beauty. This is truly delicious.

Growers Ale - GLASS

I give it a beer from glass rating of  8 out of 10.

Taste: BOTTLE –
Unfortunately drinking Growers Ale from the bottle makes the brew a little one dimensional, losing the huge depth of flavour you experience from a glass. It’s still a great beer and you will still notice the elements I mention above, but for my money stick to the glass.

I give it a taste from bottle rating of 8 out of 10.

Accompanying food: Gruyere cheese, or another strong tasting cheese would work well with this. Perhaps a favourite of mine, leak and gruyere pie.

Best season to appreciate: Definitely a Summer brew.

All-nighter beer? Yes indeed!

NEXT WEEK: TBC

Comments
  1. radiosnivins says:

    Radio glugs beer according to three intractable maxims: (1) If the bottle isn’t brown, I don’t guzzle it down; (2) I’m Linda Evangelista when it comes to foozevols – I don’t get off the padded snoozing table for less than 5%; (3) Maxims, like letterboxes, are made to be broken. Nine out of ten…hic

    Like

    • Mason Hell-Cat says:

      Radio also has decided to refer to himself in the third person.
      But yes, I agree, under 5% alc/vol and I am immediately dubious. This was an exception as I was keen to try the style.

      Like

      • Radio Snivins says:

        A fantastic fellow once quipped, it was me actually, that the only good thing to be said about glugging a diminutively foozed beer is that you can still operate heavy machinery. I really believe that.

        Like

  2. Luke says:

    Got me some of this for a barbie in the park last week. Very impressed. Also available in a handy half-case, which is why I chose it. I don’t feel feel so good when I have to drink a full case.

    Like

Leave a Reply

