172. Monteith’s Pilsner Beer

Posted: February 27, 2013 in Lager
Tags: , , , , ,

Monteiths Pilsner - BOTTLEMonteith’s Pilsner Beer

Brewery info:
Monteith’s Brewing Co
Auckland, Timaru & Greymouth, NEW ZEALAND

[www.monteiths.co.nz]

Bottle size sampled: 330ml

Alcohol: 5%
Standard drinks: 1.3

Cap type: Non-twist

Cost: I picked this up for $3.99 AU

Label info: ‘Monteith’s Pilsner Beer. An Eastern European-style lager with a clean, crisp taste derived from its rich hop bitterness and smooth malty character. Let this Bohemian-style lager enliven you as it signs off with an explosive tang of hops and a dry finish‘.

What the label really means: Sounds good to me. I look forward to the complexity and beauty promised within this beer.

The Hell-Cat review starts here

Label: I’ve been a fan of Monteith’s labels for a while now and this is another fine label. Each of their beers has slight differences in colour and font. The green on this label are indicative of the fresh hops contained within the bottle and I like it. It’s enticing, warm and traditional. Nice work once again Monteith’s.

I give it a label rating of 7.5 out of 10.

AROMA:  Hoppy, smokey, headstrong. It’s a strong indication of what’s inside.

Taste: GLASS – Wow…one sip and I am hit with pangs of disappointment. It falls really flat, very quickly. I was expecting a really full-flavoured complex brew and instead I am tasting something dry, dull, and one-dimensional. It’s not a great beer by any means, and only tastes a tad better than dirty dishwater.Monteiths Pilsner - GLASS

I give it a beer from glass rating of 5 out of 10.

Taste: BOTTLE – Drink this from the bottle and you’ll find it’s much the same as from the glass. It’s neither better nor worse. Perhaps I’m missing something here. Perhaps I’m using the wrong glass. Perhaps it’s been in the fridge too long. I’m not sure, but this is definitely well below the standards that I have come to expect from Monteith’s. 

I give it a taste from bottle rating of 5 out of 10.

Accompanying food: A chilli pork dish would work well beside this.

Best season to appreciate: A Summer thirst quencher.

All-nighter beer? This is a very inoffensive, easy to drink brew. But, I couldn’t drink this all night. It’s a bit like Toohey’s Extra Dry in some ways.

NEXT WEEK: TBC

Comments
  1. radiosnivins says:

    There are three things I like about New Zealand – Monteiths Winter Ale, more Monteiths Winter Ale, and microcontinental drift. Having test glugged this stuff…hic… I see no reason to amend that list. It’s a far from rickety glug though. Nine out of ten

    Like

Leave a Reply

