180. Biere De Garde

Posted: May 1, 2013 in Australian ales
Tags: , , , , , ,

Chevalier Bier De Garde - BOTTLEBier De Garde

Company info:
Bridge Road Brewers
Beechworth, V.I.C.

[www.bridgeroadbrewers.com.au]

Bottle size sampled: 750ml

Alcohol: 7.5%
Standard drinks: 4.4

Cap type: Non-Twist

Cost: I picked this up for $TBC AU

Label info: N/A

What the label really means: N/A

The Hell-Cat review starts here

Label: Bier De Garde (or ‘beer for keeping’) has a matte white label with splotches and stains all over it. It’s almost like old style writing paper in texture and I really appreciate the rough, artistic feel to it. The inking of the letters looks rough too and looks like it has run on the porous paper. It’s quite a clever label in that it has remained simple and uncluttered but portrays a high level of sophistication. Very classy.

I give it a label rating of 8 out of 10.

AROMA:  Sweet toffee caramel flavours. I am reminded just how delicious Bridge Road Brewers can make their beers smell.

Taste: GLASS – Lightly carbonated with malty, toffee flavours dominating. The consistency of this brew is very thick, almost cough-medicine like which at first is a little off putting. But, sip this beer slowly and you’ll be not only reminded of port-wine in taste but also culturally. It’s definitely a sit back and savour beer. I appreciate the expertise that has clearly gone into making this beer of what I consider to be of an extremely high calibre, but for me it’s just not that enjoyable an experience. As I sip a small glass I am desperately searching my house for a bottle stop to save this as I really don’t think  I can drink the whole bottle in one sitting. Bier De Garde - GLASS

I give it a beer from glass rating of 6 out of 10.

Taste: BOTTLE – Do NOT drink Biere De Garde from the glass as it becomes a real force to be reckoned with. If you found it intense from the glass, it’s now turned up to eleven. It hits with such flavour intensity, and the thickness is enhanced to really knock you sideways. Proceed with caution.

I give it a taste from bottle rating of 4 out of 10.

Song of choice: Try this alongside Fun’s ‘We are Young’

Accompanying food:
Just like port, I suggest you sip this with blue cheese and crackers.

Best season to appreciate: Definitely a Winter, by the fireplace kind of beer.

All-nighter beer? No thanks, not for me. It’s just a little too intense, a little too thick, a little too sticky. 

NEXT WEEK: TBC

Leave a Reply

