186. Cascade Blonde

Posted: July 3, 2013 in Australian ales
Tags: , , , , , ,

Cascade Blonde - BOTTLECascade Blonde

Company info:
Cascade Brewery

South Hobart, T.A.S

[www.cascadebreweryco.com.au]

Alcohol: 4.8%
Standard drinks: 1.4

Cap type: Twist

Cost: I picked this up for $0.99AU (ordinarily $3.65 AU)

Label info: ‘When it came to crafting a beer well suited to the Australian Summer it was hard to overlook a traditional European blonde style’
AND
‘Citrus notes and a delicate bitterness combine in a classic wheat beer. Late hopping gives aromas of citrus fruits and ensures a crisp, clean palate’.

What the label really means: Why am I reviewing a Summer beer in the dead of (Southern Hemisphere) Winter I hear you ask? Well partly it’s because I want to be reminded of warmer days and nights. Partly it’s because I loved a good blonde style beer. But mostly it’s because it was in the clearance bin at my bottlo’.

The Hell-Cat review starts here

Label: A classic warmth emerges from this label that depicts the big ol haunted Cascase brewery building that I love. It has a kind of lounge-room nan and pop watercolour art work feel to it and strangely enough it works. It makes me think of comfortable slippers, or tracky dacks. The yellows, oranges and browns reinforce this as a Summer brew.

I give it a label rating of 7 out of 10.

AROMA:  Cascade often do great smelling brews, and this is no exception. There are delicious wheaty, citrus aromas wafting up and I am entranced.

Taste: GLASS – Zesty. Citrussy. Crisp. Fresh. This is a really tasty brew. Unfortunately, it’s all in the initial mouth hit. Look below the surface and there is little depth here. It tastes a bit one dimensional, as though all the flavour is packed into the upfront flavour burst and none left for the rest of the mouth. It’s good, it’s drinkable, but it’s not as complex as I’d like.Cascade Blonde - GLASS

I give it a beer from glass rating of 7 out of 10.

Taste: BOTTLE – From the bottle Cascade Blonde loses much of the zing and becomes a little more citrus flavoured. It’s not holding up too well in this bottle sampling and its flawed character is beginning to show.

I give it a taste from bottle rating of 6.5 out of 10.

Accompanying food: May I suggest pork and peppered coleslaw? Why yes, I may.

Best season to appreciate: Definitely a Summer brew.

All-nighter beer? I could easily drink this all night as a session beer and be happy.

NEXT WEEK: The Pilsner (Australian Brewery)

Comments
  1. Radio Snivins says:

    I thought you may have hiatused your blog during dry July, ‘Kazoo, while the conscientious among us attempt slay our fooze dragons under the guise of fundraising. Alas, nup. So, it’s with delirium tremens, and a bucket within huck, that Radio must sit this review out on the sidelines. Nine out of ten.

    Like

    • Mason Hell-Cat says:

      Dry July, Dry Shm-uly.
      No I’ve just had a few other writing commitments that have taken up a bit of time. Should be back on track this week.

      Like

Leave a Reply

