The Pilsner - CANThe Pilsner

Company info:
The Australian Brewery

Rouse Hill, N.S.W

[www.australianbrewery.com]

Alcohol: 4.8%
Standard drinks: 1.4

Cap type: Twist

Cost: I picked this up for $4.49AU 

Label info: ‘Inspired by the classic crisp and bitter pilsners of Germany. Our Pilsner takes the palest Australian malts and interweaves the bite and aroma of New World hops
AND
‘Tasting notes: Spicy NZ hops and citrus American hops generate an enticing aroma and a crisp, peppery bitterness that balances the rounded malt profile’.

What the label really means: Sounds like a well researched pilsner. 

The Hell-Cat review starts here

Label: The label is a fairly simple green and gold designed label with a lot of information blasted across it. ‘Australian Brewery’ stands out in big letters, highlighting the Australian-ness of the brew but the surrounding text is confusing and unnecessary. It almost looks like a manual for a 1986 personal computer…dated, text heavy, hard to read.

I give it a label rating of 3 out of 10.

AROMA:  Wheaty citrus aromas. This is a very familiar pilsner smell.

Taste: GLASS – Wow what a disappointing brew. I am shocked. This is incredibly mild in flavour. It’s water-like at best with a very subtle twist of citrus. The after taste is horribly sour (not bitter) and very off-putting. Lacks substance, lacks body, lacks any redeeming qualities.The Pilsner - GLASS

I give it a beer from glass rating of 3 out of 10.

Taste: CAN – A little better from the can. While it’s still hard to ignore the dirty dishwater after-taste, the upfront flavours are a bit more citrus infused and that at least adds a teensy bit of flavour. Still, this is by no means a good beer. What were they thinking?

I give it a taste from bottle rating of 3.5 out of 10.

Accompanying food: Something super, super spicy to mask the horrible flavour of the beer and to burn the taste buds out of your face. Maybe a szechuan beef with extra chilli. 

Best season to appreciate: Probably Summer I guess. I dunno. I’m reluctant to say any time of year.

All-nighter beer? No, no, no. Horrible stuff.

NEXT WEEK: Australian IPA (Hawthorn Brewing Company)

Comments
  1. Brett says:

    Thanks for the advice. Will avoid! But then, I’d probably not encounter it…looks like a can to me. I drink beer from cans only on December 25th when all else has been depleted.

    Like

    • Radio Snivins says:

      Can bias, ‘ey? I used to be like you, now I’m like me. Let he who is without can bias piff the first tinny. That’s my maxim.

      The can’s the best thing about this rickety stuff. I like that it looks like something you’d get from Aussie Disposals rather than Murphett’s. I like that it’s 100% lightproof to protect to the full flavour of the bean. I also like that cans are practically weightless, whereas four stubbies weigh over a kilo. It should be cheaper because of that. It’s not. I don’t like that.

      Like

  2. Radio Snivins says:

    I’m not really a fan of Pilsners. I find them bland and uninteresting, like Homebrand dim sims, unless they’re Oettinger cheap, then my love of a bargain supersedes all. In foozespeak, I’m what’s known as having tastebuds in my wallet. Alas, this stuff is not Oettinger cheap, so I’m not a fan. Australian Brewery make a supremely gluggable Pale Ale though.

    Like

    • Radio Snivins says:

      I almost forgot. On my pokings around, I discovered that Australian Brewery are exclusively a dry malt extract brewer. They don’t mash. They dissolve. It’s not exactly reinheitsgebot. Still, their Pale Ale is not to be sniffed at.

      Like

Leave a Reply

