Australian IPA - BOTTLEAustralian IPA

Company info:
Hawthorn Brewing Company Pty Ltd

Hawthorn, V.I.C 

[hawthornbrewing.com.au]

Alcohol: 5.8%
Standard drinks: 1.5

Cap type: Non-twist

Cost: TBC

Label info: ‘In the tradition of the travelling merchants of old, the Flavour Merchants criss-cross the globe to bring home the secrets of the world’s best brewers. It is only by trialling and refining these techniques that we are able to create beers of such distinction.
Like this Australian IPA, rich in bold flavours from crystal malts and a prodigious addition of unique Aussie hops.’

and

‘An Indian Pale Ale bursting with bitterness and hop flavour, derived from a lavish dose of Australian hops’

What the label really means:
 This is what I said when I last reviewed a Hawthorn Brewing Co. beer and my response still stands: ‘I love the harking back to days of yore tradition that this description exudes. I love the fact that they are drawing on the work done of beer pioneers, reading, sampling, reviewing their produce and then report to be bringing this knowledge to us in the form of an ideal brew. Very well crafted description that has me intrigued, excited, and almost teary. Thank you bygone flavour merchants, thank you’.

The Hell-Cat review starts here

Label: The only variation between this label and the previously reviewed Pale Ale is that the IPA uses purple as its identifier. This is what I said last time, and my response still stands: ‘Excellent stuff, this label becomes instantly legend-ridden simply by its design. It’s traditional, it’s strong, it’s bold, it’s inspiring. It’s a label that is accurately supported in the label description as a beer of character and class and I’d be proud to hold a bottle of this in my hand. It has a washed out, old magazine/bulletin style feel to it and it just works. Nicely done, people!’Australian IPA - GLASS

I give it a label rating of 8 out of 10.

AROMA:  There is a refreshing, clean, peachy aroma wafting up. Smells great.

Taste: GLASS – Take a fruity pale ale and load it up with a decent helping of malts, and a good, strong bitterness emerges. I am really enjoying what I perceive as a very innovative take on an IPA. It is both refreshing and clean, and dark-inspired. I am enjoying it immensely. 

I give it a beer from glass rating of 8 out of 10.

Taste: BOTTLE – Good, but cuts straight to the bitterness-chase and feels like it skips the fruity hop profile. Stick to the glass for a much more fulfilling experience.

I give it a taste from bottle rating of 7 out of 10.

Accompanying food: A chunky beef casserole with thick sourdough bread.

Best season to appreciate: Drinking this in Winter, by a fireplace, would be my idea of heaven.

All-nighter beer? Yes please! Delicious!

NEXT WEEK: Bohemian PIlsner (Black Heart Brewery)

Comments
  1. radiosnivins says:

    Not much love for this stuff from my fellow ‘Kazoonauts. They’ve obviously found it as impossible to procure as I have, and Hawthorn Brewing Co. is only 15 kilometres as the bottle flies from me. The closest I could wangle was their Pale Ale, which was good guzzling. In my world view, Pale Ales are learner’s IPA’s, so their IPA must be a real trouser tightener. Nine out of ten…hic

    Like

Leave a Reply

