Mango Beer - BOTTLEMango Beer

Company info:
Matso’s Broome Brewery

Broome, W.A.

[www.matsos.com.au]

Alcohol: 4.5%
Standard drinks: 1.2

Cap type: Twist

Cost: I picked this up for $3.99AU

Label info: ‘Matso’s Mango Beer is based on a classic Belgium Blonde recipe using a 100% natural mango fruit blend. An easy drinking beer with excellent fruit aroma and balancing dry sweetness‘.

What the label really means: They better not be lying to me about that classic Belgium Blonde recipe…still, by writing it, it gives the beer an instant bit of credence I suppose.

The Hell-Cat review starts here

Label: I really like the look of this label. It has a classic art deco or nouveau inspired design of a woman holding a glass of beer up to her forehead as a fruit platter topples from atop her head. Bold use of orange reinforces the mango novelty that they are obviously stressing to push. The Matso’s logo of a bold, white, Japanese character on red sticks out like a wax seal on the bottle. It’s a good fun label.

I give it a label rating of 7 out of 10.

AROMA:  A very distinct mango aroma that is clean and refreshing.
Everything about this brew is warning me to steer clear. 

Taste: GLASS – Firstly, here are the good points…it’s clean, refreshing, crisp, with a drifting undercurrent of dryness.
Now for the not so great points…this is like a watered down Corona combined with a front of mouth mango sweetness that is almost so sweet it’s sickening. I can see this beer appealing to lighter flavoured beer fans, or the alco-pop crowd. But for me, this is horrid.Mango Beer - GLASS

I give it a beer from glass rating of 4.5 out of 10.

Taste: BOTTLE – Much the same from the bottle…although perhaps a tad sweeter (which I would have thought impossible). This is a very difficult beer for me to warm to.

I give it a taste from bottle rating of 4.5 out of 10.

Accompanying food: I suggest a BBQ or roast chicken may actually work alongside this brew.

Best season to appreciate: Definitely Summer bound.

All-nighter beer? No, not for me…far too sweet, far too mild.

NEXT WEEK: In two weeks time, as a closer for 2013, I have timed this to bring you my 200th review. A milestone that is impressing no one, bar myself, I present to you the intriguing, limited edition, and highly alcoholic, Tripel, from Black Heart Brewery. 

Comments
  1. mrstompy says:

    I wonder If it tastes better closer to the source. I’m not a fan of “fruity” beers anyway as quite often they do taste “horrid”

    Like

  2. craigmarsh says:

    Agree with your comments Mason, very sweet and not for the die hard beer drinker. Saying that we had this beer with a Thai banquet, chili & basil stir fry and Massamon curry, it went down very well complimenting the spicy Thai food. I’ll stick to a hoppy pale for my everyday beer though!

    Like

    • Mason Hell-Cat says:

      Interesting, Craig! I did wonder whether it would suit spicy foods and in the end settled on chicken as being a mild meat due to the mango fruitiness being so overpowering. Perhaps I’ll give your pairing a chance someday.

      Like

Leave a Reply

