200. Tripel (Black Heart Brewery)

Posted: December 31, 2013 in Australian ales
Tags: , , , , ,

Tripel - BOTTLETripel

Company info:
Black Heart Brewery
Brighton, VIC

[www.blackheartbrewery.com.au]

Bottle size sampled: 500 mL

Alcohol: 9.2%
Standard drinks: 3.6

Cap type: Non-twist

Cost: TBC

Label info: ‘This complex strong Belgian Ale is a marriage of spicy, fruity and alcohol flavours mixed with orange and peppery notes along with a low but distinctive floral hop character’

What the label really means: Sounds very interesting. Bring it on.

The Hell-Cat review starts here

Label: Again with this Black Heart Brewery label, the hand-drawn lettering has instant awesome appeal. A black heart sits atop the company name while a small blue band at the bottom reads ‘Tripel’. At the top right of the label is a ‘Limited Edition’ stamp that tells me this is bottle 82 of 1100 and I am damned excited by this. Over all the label is not as powerful as the previously reviewed Bohemian Pilsner (I’m longing for that red, bloody heart), but it’s a damn fine design. Tripel - Limited Edition

I give it a label rating of 8.5 out of 10.

AROMA:  Strong, rich, alcoholic, malty.

Taste: GLASS – There’s a definite spiced flavour flowing through every rich mouthful. It’s softly malted, chest-warming, and carried by a dry lingering finish. It’s superbly crafted, refined and noticeably alcoholic. This is one very tasty drop.

I give it a beer from glass rating of 8 out of 10.

Taste: BOTTLE – Still very, very tasty. I was sure this brew would badly diminish in flavour when supped from the bottle – but it’s still great. While the glass may make the beer feel more at home, and maintain the sophistication of this elegant drop, this is one fine bottle to hold. Or perhaps the alcohol is kicking in and anything would be good to hold. No. Stop it. I will not kill the dwarfian finger puppets at midnight. What? Who are you and what are you doing in my head?Tripel - GLASS

I give it a taste from bottle rating of 8 out of 10.

Accompanying food: This is one mighty fine poultry destined beer. Bring on the chicken, turkey, duck, or quail and I would match it like a boss. A boss of Steggles who was given the thumbs up by head-office to match beer and poultry at my desk. With one of those green banker lamps and a leather organiser thing that sits under my keyboard – possibly with an inbuilt solar-powered calculator. And one of those pens that has four colours at the slide of a button.

Best season to appreciate: More of a Winter brew with its darker notes.

All-nighter beer? This is a quiet, supping brew best enjoyed over a long period of time. I couldn’t drink it all night though.

Other: Thank you to you guys, the readers and contributors for following my antics through 200 beers. I am very thankful for your support that pushes me to source new beers week in, week out.
If you haven’t already, why not sign up for updates to this site by entering your email address at the top right of the screen. Have a great New Years, and I’ll see you bright and early in 2014 – here’s cheers to another 200 beers!

NEXT WEEK: Rising Sun Pale Ale

Comments
  1. Trent says:

    1100 bottles? Good to see they have stepped up their production size. IIRC, the first time I tried a Black Heart beer they were brewing on a 50L system. I tried a brown ale, I think (excellent) and a hefe (not so great, but could have been old). Glad to hear they are still making great beer.

    Like

  2. It sounds dangerous. I’m scared.

    Like

Leave a Reply

