201. Rising Sun Pale Ale

Posted: January 16, 2014 in ale, International beer
Tags: , , , , , ,

Rising Sun PaleAle - BOTTLE Rising Sun Pale Ale
Japanese flag - SMALL

Company info:
Baird Beer
JAPAN

[www.bairdbeer.com]

Bottle size sampled: 360 mL

Alcohol: 5%
Standard drinks: 1.4

Cap type: Non-twist

Cost: I picked this up for $8.99AU

Label info: Japanese text that I unfortunately can’t read.

What the label really means: N/A

The Hell-Cat review starts here

Label: I quite like this label. It has been designed in such a way that it looks as though it is a wood-cut. Mount Fuji stands to the right of the label with the typical red rising sun emblazoned within, highlighting its depth and magnificence. Over to the left some hops hang in a big bunch. It’s stylish, it’s well thought out. The colours make the label a little too jovial however and I think it could work infinitely better in monochrome.

I give it a label rating of 7.5 out of 10.

AROMA:  A little musty in aroma. It’s not overly pleasing.

Taste: GLASS – This is a full-flavoured, easy to drink brew that has an increasingly dry mouth feel to it. In fact the dryness is very similar in taste to many fine Japanese beers such as Sapporo. It’s good, it’s drinkable, but it’s hardly original – and it feels a little one-dimensional. I am a bit disappointed with this.Rising Sun Pale Ale - GLASS

I give it a beer from glass rating of 6.5 out of 10.

Taste: BOTTLE – Loses a bit more of its flavour when consumed from the bottle. Plus it’s a tad fizzier

I give it a taste from bottle rating of 5 out of 10.

Accompanying food: A well seasoned steak with salad could suit this beer well. 

Best season to appreciate: Due solely to the dry finish, I would like to suggest this beer is more of a cooler weather brew.

All-nighter beer? Not for me. The dryness is very draining. 

NEXT WEEK: TBC

Comments
  1. I’m prob’ly suffering from late stage heat loopiness as I write this, but having just slurped a Rising Sun, I’m in complete agree with ya, ‘Kazoo. It’s a satisfactory glug. There are far better PA’s for ½ the price though.

    Like

  2. Manager - Stockton Bowling Club says:

    The Rising Sun just stole my girl away classic lyrics from Cold Chisel.quite appropriate in this occasion!!

    Cheers

    Gordon Laffan

    *From:* Mason Hell-Cat’s beer blog [mailto:comment-reply@wordpress.com] *Sent:* Thursday, 16 January 2014 1:16 AM *To:* gordon.laffan@gmail.com *Subject:* [New post] 201. Rising Sun Pale Ale

    Mason Hell-Cat posted: ” Rising Sun Pale Ale Company info: Baird Beer JAPAN [www.bairdbeer.com] Bottle size sampled: 360 mL Alcohol: 5% Standard drinks: 1.4 Cap type: Non-twist Cost: I picked this up for $8.99AU Label info: Japanese text that I unfortuna”

    Like

  3. The driest beer I’ve ever glugged was Carlton Dry Fusion Lime, and it was so gay I couldn’t even think straight afterwards. Not that there’s anything wrong with that.

    Like

Leave a Reply

