218. Golden

Posted: August 14, 2014 in ale, International beer
Tags: , , , , , ,

Celt Golden Ale - BOTTLEGolden

Company info:
The Celt Experience Brewery

 Caerphilly, WALES

[celtexperience.com]

Bottle size sampled: 500ml

Alcohol: 4.2%
Standard drinks: 1.7

Cap type: Non-Twist

Cost: I picked this up for $5.99 AU

Label info: ‘A zesty body and citrus aroma with a snappy finish. Drink to inspire you to an evening of passion! Circa 500BC, during the Celtic Golden Age, most of mainland Europe was dominated by the spiritual tribes of Celtic origin.
AND
’46 IBUs – Golden Ale
Foodpartner: King Prawn Dhansak
Colour: 12 Colour Units
Hops: US, NZ, UK
Spirit Emotion: Loved’

What the label really means: Can’t complain with the detail and information presented here. 

The Hell-Cat review starts here

Label: As this label is almost identical to the previously reviewed Bleddyn 1075 I’ll simply copy my review here: ‘I really love the matte-black on this label. It’s classy, it’s non-finger print marking. Glance up to the neck and there is even a a plastic label covering the cap (which proved more difficult to remove than the standard paper neck labels) which is a fun inclusion. I like the font on the main label and especially the big lettering of Celt down the bottom’.

In the case of this brew, I am even content with the gold on the label. It seems appropriate.Celt Golden Ale - GLASS

I give it a label rating of 7 out of 10.

AROMA:  Predictably citrus smelling, grassy and touches of floral.

Taste: GLASS – Upfront poppy, citrussy, lager flavours present this brew as clean, crisp and refreshing. Then the brew slides back to reveal a strong, husky, back of mouth bitterness that elevates this beer into a plain of complex beauty and depth. Very enjoyable.

I give it a beer from glass rating of 7.5 out of 10.

Taste: BOTTLE – From the bottle, Golden is surprisingly very good. In fact the bitterness is now softened and the brew is presented with an even smooth upfront experience. This is one of those rare occasions where the bottle just slightly pips the glass at the post.

I give it a taste from bottle rating of 8 out of 10.

Accompanying food: It’s quite a dry brew so I’d like to suggest something quite succulent. I believe game bird poultry would work well alongside this…quail, pheasant, or dove.

Best season to appreciate: A Summer brew through and through.

All-nighter beer? The more I drink of this, the dryer it becomes. So no, I couldn’t drink this all night.

Other: This week’s review is dedicated to the life of one of this world’s greatest comedians, Robin Williams. His unexpected passing this week has really hit me hard. He was a comedian, an actor, and a humanitarian that I long admired. With Robin’s passing, the world got a little colder, a little darker, a little sadder, and a little more hopeless. Vale Robin Williams. 

NEXT WEEK: TBC

Comments
  1. 'Tard Blumpkin says:

    This stuff reminded me of Coronado Orange Ave Wit, which reminded me of a chocolately, roasty, dark ale. I liked it. Although, at 4.2% I consider it a safety beer.

    If I wasn’t a recovering betting ‘Tard, which I am, I would’ve bet plenty-‘o’-cheese on you scrapping this week’s fixture and re-reviewing William’s Pale Ale as a tribute to Robin Williams. Alas, nup, which is probably why I’m a recovering betting ‘Tard,

    Like

Leave a Reply

