28 Pale Ale

Company info:
Burleigh Brewing Co.
Burleigh Heads, Q.L.D.

[28paleale.com.au]

Bottle size sampled: 330 mL

Alcohol:
 4.8%
Standard drinks: 1.3

Cap type: Non-twist

Cost: I picked this up for $3.99AU

Label info: ‘The 70s brought us two momentous events: a new style of pale ale and a perfect, 28-day-swell at Burleigh Heads. The beer lives on in 28 Pale. And the stories live on at 28paleale.com.au’.

What the label really means: Ahh yes, the 70s. When Elvis and I danced our final waltz, when flares flared their final flare, and when disco was born and then put to bed without supper. What an era. I love the sound of a ’28-day-swell’ and if I was a surfer it may mean even more to me, but the legends this time must have evoked is really cool. It’s already making me drift right back…

The Hell-Cat review starts here

Label: Unbelievably great! Burleigh Heads Brewing have created a label that not only evokes the 70s in design but also gives the effect of this being a beer that has been around since then. The label looks worn, dirty and sweaty. It’s scratched, beaten, old, vintage. This is sheer label beauty…the huge ’28’ along with the other font just rings of 70s disco fever. I am so impressed with this label and I literally have taken my hat off to the designers of this beauty.

I give it a label rating of 8.5 out of 10.

AROMA:  Try as I might, I just can’t get a single discernible aroma to comment on. I even sniffed a handful of coffee beans to cleans the nostril palet and still couldn’t get anything. 

Taste: GLASS – The 28 Pale Ale is super smooth with a delicious tinge of banana, swept along with a mild wheaty undercurrent. This is a very enjoyable ale and I am appreciating each sip more and more.

I give it a beer from glass rating of 7.5 out of 10.

Taste: BOTTLE – Drinking this from the bottle is not as good unfortunately…it loses most of the wheat flavour and is even starting to become a little bland.

I give it a taste from bottle rating of 7 out of 10.

Song of choice: Try this alongside Buckshot and 9th Wonder’s ‘The Ghetto

Accompanying food: A hot pork vindaloo or curry dish would suit this brew to a tee.

Best season to appreciate: Definitely one to appreciate in the warm Summer months….roll on, Summer.

All-nighter beer? Bring it on!!

NEXT WEEK: TBC

Comments
  1. Rock Studley says:

    A time machine in a bottle! I can only dimly recall the 1970s so I shall make it my mission to hunt this down. Then I can travel back 40 years and see if I can persuade The Beatles to patch things up before it’s too late (and maybe see if I can talk the Stones into splitting up before it’s too late). Before I do that though, can you please suggest a 2011 beer that I should take with me to the 1970s? I’ll need to drink that when I want to return to the present day.

    On a side note, you are now on 111 beers. BEWARE!!! As well as being a perfect totient number, 111 is an unlucky score in cricket. I recommend you spend the next week hopping from one foot to the other in a style similar to Umpire David Shepherd. Just to be on the safe side. You have been warned.

    Like

  2. Radio Snivins says:

    You were spot on about the aroma, ‘Kazoo. Dang. A chap practically needs a nose trumpet for it to register. Still, at least I get to use nose trumpet in a sentence. Nine out of ten.

    Like

  3. BargeDave says:

    I enjoyed this. Not strong flavours but a lot of complex interaction between some subtle hops and malt flavours – more malt flavour than one would usually get with a pale ale.

    Like

    • BargeDave says:

      Further to previous, I appear to have temporarily forgotten that pale ale can fairly be defined as anything paler than dark ale, so pale ales can legitimately be fairly dark gold in colour and have quite big malt flavours from darker malts. Yes I realise my correction is longer than my original comment but as previously stated I am a pedantic bastard.

      Like

Leave a comment